Tipperary’s Michael Ryan rings the changes for clash with Cork

Second-season Tipperary boss Michael Ryan makes six changes to his side for the Round 2 game with Cork which throws-in at 2pm on Sunday in Semple Stadium, Thurles, while his Cork counterpart, John Meyler, makes just one change, as Shane Kingston comes in at full forward in place of Robbie O’Flynn who was injured against Clare last Sunday.

Ryan’s changes are Drom-Inch’s Séamus Callanan, Patrick Maher of Lorrha-Dorrha, Borris-Ileigh man Brendan Maher, right corner back Seán O’Brien from Newport, left corner back Michael Cahill of Thurles Sarsfields and Killenaule’s Joe O’Dwyer who are all named to start against Cork.

The giants of Munster Senior Hurling meet for the 86th time in the Championship, with Tipperary leading 39-38 (with seven draws and one abandoned game from the previous 85).

Last weekend the Rebels began their ‘Round Robin’ campaign with a 2-23 to 1-21 defeat of Clare at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, while Tipperary lost 1-23 to 2-14 to Limerick.

The Premier County defeated Cork by 1-24 to 1-21 when the sides met in the Allianz League at Semple Stadium last March. One of the main talking points from the League clash was the scoring performances of Cork’s Patrick Horgan who got 1-10 (0-8 frees, 1-0 penalty) on the day, and Tipperary’s Jason Forde who scored 0-12 (0-7 frees for Tipperary).

Interestingly, Cork’s victory over Tipperary last season was the first time they had beaten the Premier County in Thurles since 2006. Tipperary has had the upper hand in Championship games in recent years, however, having won their three games against the Rebel County prior to that.


2017: Cork 2-27 Tipperary 1-26 (Munster quarter-final)

2014: Tipperary 2-18 Cork 1-11 (All-Ireland semi-final)

2012: Tipperary 1-22 Cork 0-24 (Munster semi-final)

2011: Tipperary 3-22 Cork 0-23 (Munster quarter-final)

2010: Cork 3-15 Tipperary 0-14 (Munster quarter-final)

Tipperary Team:

  1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
  2. Seán O’Brien (Newport)
  3. Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel)
  4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
  5. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
  6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
  7. Pádraic Maher (Capt.) (Thurles Sarsfields)
  8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
  9. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
  10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
  11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
  12. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
  13. Séamus Callanan (Drom-Inch)
  14. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
  15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


  1. Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
  2. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
  3. Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
  4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
  5. Seán Curran (Mullinahone)
  6. Páudie Feehan (Killenaule)
  7. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
  8. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
  9. Donagh Maher (Burgess)
  10. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)
  11. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

Cork Team:

  1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
  2. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
  3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
  4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
  5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
  6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
  7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
  8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
  9. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
  10. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s) (captain)
  11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
  12. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
  13. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
  14. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
  15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


  1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
  2. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
  3. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
  4. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
  5. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
  6. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
  7. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)
  8. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
  9. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
  10. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
  11. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.