U-21 Hurling team of the year nominations announced

All-Ireland U-21 Hurling Champions, Clare, have received a total of fourteen nominations for the inaugural Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year Award ceremony which will be televised live on TG4 on Saturday, 12th October at 8.30pm.


The hour long broadcast will look back over the 2013 Bord Gáis Energy U-21 Hurling Championship with contributions from current and former U-21 players and managers in addition to contributions from the judging panel themselves. In addition to the Team of the Year announcement, the Bord Gáis Energy Player of the Year award will be presented in both the ‘A’ and the ‘B’ championships. This is the first year that a ‘B’ award has been presented.


Finally fans of the championships will be able to have their say with a Bord Gáis Energy Score of the Year Award which will be voted for by fans on social media in the week leading up to the programme. A selection of the ten best ‘Score of the Game’ clips from each of the televised matches (including the Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland GAA U-21 Hurling ‘B’ final) are available to view on the Breakingthrough Youtube channel. Fans are asked to vote for their favourite score via Bord Gais Energy’s U-21 Hurling Facebook, Twitter or Instragram pages. Voting will close at midnight Friday, 11th October.


Speaking at the announcement of the shortlist, Ger Cunningham, sports ambassador at Bord Gáis Energy said, “It’s a fantastic way to finish up what has been a championship full of excitement, passion and hurling of the highest quality. To narrow the list down to forty-five players was a mammoth task and we now have to finalise the final fifteen which is not going to an easy task. It will no doubt be a wonderful night for all involved and Bord Gáis Energy is delighted to be involved in recognising the best young hurlers in 2013.”


Clare were undoubtedly the form team in 2013 and this has been highlighted in the shortlist which includes team captain and Bord Gáis Energy Ambassador, Paul Flanagan in addition to All-Ireland Final Man of the Match, David O’Halloran. The Éire Óg clubman finished with a total of 1-4 and was instrumental in helping the Banner retain their All-Ireland U-21 crown.


Gerry O’Connor and Donal Maloney’s team also lead the way in nominations for the Player of the Year Award with senior stars David McInerney, Colm Galvin and Podge Collins all in the running for the coveted award.


Beaten provincial finalists Kilkenny and Tipperary have both received six nominations including Bord Gáis Energy Ambassador Jason Forde. The Tipp forward finished the campaign with an impressive total of 5-23. Forde is also shortlisted for the Player of the Year Award.


Antrim’s achievement in reaching a first ever All-Ireland Final is recognised with a total of five nominations. An excellent year for the Saffrons included a dominant provincial campaign followed by that famous victory over Wexford in the All-Ireland Semi-Final. Tiernan Coyle, Jackson McGreevey, Eoghan Campbell, Ciaran Clarke and Stephen McAfee have all received nominations.


Leinster Champions, Wexford, have also received five nominations. A first provincial title in eleven years sees team captain Lee Chin included in the six nominations for Player of the Year in addition to his inclusion, along with Jack Guiney, Andrew Kenny, Shane O’Gorman and Ian Byrne in the shortlist for Team of the Year.


Offaly and Waterford, who ran Kilkenny and Clare close in their respective outings, have both received three nominations while Galway, Limerick and Carlow have all been rewarded with one nomination each.


The full judging panel for the awards include Bord Gáis Energy sports ambassadors Ger Cunningham and Joe Canning, in addition to TG4’s Mícheál Ó Domhnaill and former Waterford star Ken McGrath.


Shortlist Announced for Bord Gáis Energy Team of the Year


1 Aaron Duggan-Kilkenny,            Daragh Mooney-Tipperary,         Ronan Taffe-Clare

2 Paul Flanagan-Clare,                    Cathal Barrett-Tipperary,              Tiernan Coyle-Antrim

3 Dan Kelleher-Offaly,                   Willie Phelan-Kilkenny,                 David McInerney-Clare, 

4 Brian Kennedy-Kilkenny,           Jack Browne-Clare,                         Mark Carmody-Limerick

5 Seadna Morey-Clare,                  Andrew Kenny-Wexford,             Joe O’Dwyer-Tipperary

6 Shane O’Gorman-Wexford,     Alan O’Neill -Clare,                          Pat Camon-Offaly,

7 Stephen O’Halloran-Clare,        Ray Barry-Waterford,                     Diarmuid Byrne-Carlow

8 Colm Galvin-Clare,                       Jackson McGreevy-Antrim,         Stephen Roche-Waterford

9 Lee Chin-Wexford,                      Tony Kelly-Clare,                              Eoghan Campbell-Antrim

10 Jack Guiney-Wexford,             Peter Duggan-Clare,                       Jason Forde-Tipperary

11 Podge Collins-Clare, Ian Byrne-Wexford,                        John Power-Kilkenny

12 Niall O’Meara-Tipperary,        Jake Dillon-Waterford,                 Stephen McAfee-Antrim,

13 Stephen Quirke-Offaly,           Cathal O’Connell-Clare,                 Ger Alyward-Kilkenny

14 Kevin Kelly -Kilkenny,               Bill Walsh-Tipperary,                       Conor Cooney-Galway

15 David O’Halloran-Clare,           Ciaran Clarke-Antrim,                     Shane O’Donnell-Clare


Breakdown on Counties Nominated:

Clare               14

Kilkenny           6

Tipperary        6
Wexford          5
Antrim             5

Offaly              3

Waterford       3

Galway            1

Limerick          1

Carlow             1


Nominations for Player of the Year:


1 David McInerney

2 Jason Forde

3 Podge Collins

4 Kevin Kelly

5 Colm Galvin

6 Lee Chin


Nominations for Bord Gáis Energy Score of the Year Award:

Antrim vs Clare (All-Ireland Final):                                  Score of the Game:Tony Kelly

Kerry vs Kildare (All-Ireland B Final):              Score of the Game: Pádraig Boyle
Galway vs Clare (All Ireland Semi-Final):       Score of the Game:  Cathal O’Connell
Wexford vs Antrim (All Ireland Semi-Final):                 Score of the Game: Ciaran Clarke
Tipperary vs Clare (Munster Final):                Score of the Game:  Peter Duggan
Waterford vs Clare (Munster Semi-Final):    Score of the Game:  Peter Duggan
Tipperary vs Cork (Munster Semi-Final):       Score of the Game: John McGrath
Wexford vs Kilkenny (Leinster Final):              Score of the Game: Gary Moore
Kilkenny vs Offaly (Leinster Semi-Final):        Score of the Game: Michael Brennan
Tipperary vs Limerick (Munster Quarter Final): Score of the Game: Shane Kenny 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.