U20 Munster Football Semi-Final: Kerry cruise into Munster Final with 0-18 to 1-03 win over Limerick

Kerry 0-18 Limerick 1-03

Kerry remain on course for a third successive Munster title after a convincing 0-18 to 1-03 win over Limerick at Tralee on Thursday evening. The Kingdom will now meet either Cork or Waterford in the provincial decider.

Kerry were always in control of the game and they never trailed in the game once Donal O’Sullivan converted a second-minute free. Kerry were actually three points ahead when Limerick got their first score of the night on 8 minutes through James Molyneaux, Donal O’Sullivan knocked over two more points to give Kerry a healthy lead. Killian Falvey also raised a white flag to keep the Kingdom out of reach. However, Jack Downey landed a monstrous free from all of 50 metres for the Shannonsiders but that was as good as it got for Limerick in the first half. Kerry pushed on with Fiachra Clifford (2), Cathal Ferriter, Donal O’Sullivan all pointing to leave the scores 0-10 to 0-02 at the break.

Donal O’Sullivan got Kerry off to a superb start in the second half with a point but Limerick responded through a point from John Hayes. Limerick then got an unlikely goal. It came after an under-hit free from Hayes which found Molyneaux who fisted to the net past Lonergan. Limerick deserved the goal for perseverance but they failed to score for the remaining 24 minutes as Kerry coasted home. Donal O’Sullivan (2), Ferriter, Paul O’Shea, and Eddie Horan all added points as Kerry closed out the game without really getting out of second gear in truth. Kerry manager Jack O’Connor will now look forward to a likely final with old rivals Cork (no disrespect to Waterford) and he will know that challenge will be tough.

Kerry: B Lonergan, D McCarthy, D Casey, M Potts, C Gammell, P Warren, S O’Leary, J O’Connor 0-01, B Mahony, K Falvey 0-01, S Horan, A O’Donoghue, F Clifford 0-03, D O’Sullivan0-09 (0-03f), C Ferriter 0-02. Subs: Subs: P Walsh for S Horan (ht), E Horan 0-01 for K Falvey (46), B Friel for F Clifford (54), C O’Donoghue for D McCarthy (55), N Donohue for P Warren (55), P O’Shea 0-01 for J O’Connor (57)

Limerick: C Walsh, Jack Fitzgerald, Jamie Fitzgerald, K Moloney, D O’Grady, A Shanagher, R McCarthy, J Coyne, J Downey, L Woulfe, B Coleman, J Hayes, N Callanan, J Molyneaux, J Cummins. Subs: D Lane for J Downey (ht), B Foley for J Hayes (45), N McAuliffe for Jamie Fitzgerald (46), S Barry for J Coyne (55), D Quirke for R McCarthy (55), DJ Stack for J Cummins (60)

Referee: David Murnane (Cork)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.