Wicklow v DCU Preview

The 2010 O’Byrne Cup champions DCU will travel to Baltinglass to take on Wicklow on Sunday in the first round of the O’Byrne Cup; throw-in at 2pm.

DCU triumphed in this competition just two years ago when they beat Louth, their conquerors from the previous year, 1-15 to 0-17 to win the competition for the first time.

Wicklow have won the O’Byrne Cup four times but haven’t lifted the trophy since 1996 after getting to the quarter finals last year only to be beaten by eventual finalists Louth by a four point margin.

The Garden County will most likely be missing some of their regular starters as Leighton Glynn, Ciaran Hyland, Paul Earls and Paddy Dalton will make way to give some of the more fringe players the opportunity to impress and get games under their belts.

New Wicklow manager Harry Murphy will also be without Eire Óg stars Darren Hayden and Stephen Kelly as both men have club commitments for the upcoming All-Ireland semi-final.

Murphy had the chance to look at his new side in a friendly against Westmeath on Monday and, despite losing 0-12 to 0-8, the new Wicklow manager can assess his team from that performance and take positives going into the game against DCU on Sunday.

Cathal Rossiter, Andy Merryman, Darragh O’Sullivan and Tommy Kelly were all given a run out against Westmeath and they are expected to start again this Sunday in the O’Byrne Cup.

As defending champions last year, DCU stormed into the quarter finals with an emphatic nine point victory over Offaly, only to be beaten 1-11 to 0-9 by the eventual winners Kildare in the quarter finals.

DCU can boast the likes of Dublin All-Ireland medal winners Philip McMahon, James McCarthy and Paul Flynn, amongst other inter county stars that may take part in Baltinglass on Sunday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.