Athletics: 2013 National Athletics Awards Nominations

Athletics Ireland have confirmed  the nominations for the 2013 National Athletics Awards in association with Woodie’s DIY and Tipperary Crystal.

The awards will take place on Wednesday 20th of November in theCrowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood. The awards ceremony is a celebration of the many successes of Irish  athletes during 2013.

The nominations for Track and Field Athlete of the Year are; Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers AC) who finished 5th in the 400m at the World University Games, Mark English (UCD AC) who ran 1.44.84 for the 800m, the second fastest time ever by an Irishman. Paul Robinson (St. Coca’s AC) – 4th in the 1500m at the European U23 Championships and Roseanne Galligan (Newbridge AC) who set a new national senior record of 2.00.58 for the 800m to break the old mark held by legendary Irish distance runner Sonia O’Sullivan which stood at2:00.69

Endurance Athlete of the Year nominations includes Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders AC) for his 21st place finish in the IAAF World Championship Marathon, Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC) for her 9th place finish and personal best in the Berlin Marathon, Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) for successfully retaining her European Cross Country title in Hungary and Mary Cullen (North Sligo AC) for her comeback to top level competition at the 2013 World Cross Country Championships.

The Track and Field Indoor Athlete nominations include Derval O’Rourke (Leevale AC), Ciaran O’Lionaird (Leevale AC) and Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) for their outstanding performances at the 2013 European Indoor Championships.

The athletes nominated in the Race Walker of the Year category are Brendan Boyce (Letterkenny AC) – 25th in the 50km Walk at the World Championships, Laura Reynolds (Mohill AC) – 6th in the 20km Walk at the World University Championships, Rob Heffernan (Togher AC) on winning the world 50km Walk title and Luke Hickey (Leevale AC) – 13th in the 10km Walk at the European Junior Championships.

Junior Athlete of the Year nominations includes Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O’Toole AC) – 4th place in the 200m at the European Junior Championships, Sarah Lavin (Emerald AC) – silver medal in the 100m hurdles at the European Junior Championships, Phil Healy (Bandon AC) – 4th place in the 100m final at the European Junior Championships and Aislinn Crossey (Newry AC) – 4th in the 800m at the European Junior Championships.

The prestigious Athlete of the Year Award will be presented on the day along with the; Emerging Athlete of the Year, Ultra Running Award, Mountain Running Award, Master Athlete of the Year, Aviva Tailteann Schools Boy and Girl Award, Inspiration Performance and Team Award.

For the second year running there will be awards presented to Club of the Year and Development Club of the Year.

The award ceremony also commemorates our exceptional volunteer base. In recognition of that, awards will be presented to Coach of the Year, Official of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

There is a limited amount of tickets available for purchase; the deadline for purchase of tickets is Friday 8th of November. The cost of the tickets is €50 per head and the dress code is smart. Tables of 10 can be purchased at €450. To purchase tickets please telephone: (01) 8869933.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here