Dallas Mavericks win NBA championship

Dallas Mavericks won their first NBA title on Sunday night when they beat the Miami Heat 105-95 to take the best-of-seven series 4-2.

Jason Terry and Dirk Nowitzki led the way for the victors and turned in outstanding performances on the night. Notwitzki averaged 26 points over the six matches, and hit 21 points in the decider. Terry added 27 points as his side ran out narrow winners.

“I don’t think there’s any doubt after this series that Dirk has certainly earned the clout of being one of the all-time great players,” said Mavericks coach Rick Carlisle.

“His versatility, how he’s done it in the clutch. He goes one for 12 in the first half, and then in the second half he was just absolute money.”

Nowitzki let his emotions show after winning his first ever NBA championship in his 13th season: “It feels amazing now to know that nobody can ever take this away from us and for one year, we’re the best team that was out there. That feels amazing.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here