Taylor Named Player of the Year

PHIL TAYLOR was named as the PDC Player of the Year on Tuesday night, as Adrian Lewis, Gary Anderson, Justin Pipe and Dave Chisnall also picked up trophies at the PDC Annual Awards Dinner.

The stars of the sport gathered at The Dorchester on London’s Park Lane for the annual ceremony to celebrate the achivements of the last year.

World number 1 Taylor saw his achievement in winning five major titles during 2011 – at the World Matchplay, European Championship, World Grand Prix, Championship League Darts and Grand Slam of Darts – recognised with the showpiece PDC Player of the Year Award.

Taylor was also voted as the PDC Fans’ Player of the Year following an internet poll on the PDC’s official website, www.pdc.tv, as he edged out Gary Anderson and Justin Pipe as the crowd favourite.

“I’m delighted,” said Taylor. “Both of these awards mean a huge amount to me because there have been so many other great players in the PDC in the past year.

“We’ve seen Adrian Lewis, James Wade and Gary Anderson all win majors and other players emerging too, so to be voted for as Player of the Year and Fans’ Player of the Year is a massive honour.

“It will spur me on to try even harder in 2012.”

Pipe’s rise into the world’s top 32, which included three PDC ProTour titles, saw him recognised by his peers with the PDPA Players’ Player of the Year award.

“I’ve had a brilliant year and this caps it off for me,” said Pipe. “To be recognised like this by my fellow players after only my second full year in the PDC is amazing.”

Anderson, meanwhile, was named as the Best PDC ProTour Player, having won seven Players Championships and UK Open Qualifiers during 2011 to claim £62,400 prize money in non-televised tournaments.

Holland’s 22-year-old Michael van Gerwen was named as the PDC Young Player of the Year after winning four PDC Unicorn Youth Tour events during 2011 and reaching the last 16 of the World Championship recently.

Dave Chisnall’s outstanding debut season in the PDC was rewarded with the Best Newcomer Award, recognising his rise to 32nd in the PDC Order of Merit as he won a Players Championship and reached two major quarter-finals.

World Champion Adrian Lewis saw his thrilling comeback from 5-1 to defeat James Wade 6-5 in the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship semi-finals named as the PDC Televised Performance of the Year.

The Nine-Dart Club, which sees players who hit a perfect leg in PDC tournaments, welcomed a host of new members who achieved the feat in 2011, including John Part, Adrian Lewis, Brendan Dolan, Simon Whitlock and Phil Taylor from televised events.

A further 11 players, Dave Chisnall, John Henderson, Michael Smith, Wayne Atwood, Dennis Priestley, Simon Whitlock, Justin Pipe, Phil Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld, Wes Newton and Mark Webster, received a Silver Pin Badge to reward their achievements in non-televised events.

Best PDC ProTour Player – Gary Anderson

PDC Televised Performance of the Year – Adrian Lewis, for the Ladbrokes World Darts Championship Semi-Final v James Wade

PDC Best Newcomer – Dave Chisnall

PDC Fans’ Player of the Year – Phil Taylor

PDPA Players’ Player of the Year – Justin Pipe

Nine-Dart Club
Silver Pin Badge (non-televised)
Dave Chisnall
John Henderson
Michael Smith
Wayne Atwood
Dennis Priestley
Simon Whitlock
Justin Pipe
Phil Taylor
Raymond van Barneveld
Wes Newton
Mark Webster

Gold Pin Badge
John Part – World Matchplay
Adrian Lewis – European Championship
Brendan Dolan – World Grand Prix
Simon Whitlock – Championship League Darts
Phil Taylor – Championship League Darts

PDC Young Player of the Year – Michael van Gerwen

PDC Player of the Year – Phil Taylor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.