Cave claims maiden MSA British Rally win

The world of well rallying was well shook up this weekend past at the second round of the British Rally Championship, MSA British Historic Rally Championship & Welsh National Forest Rally Championship all being hosted on the same stages. The Bulldog Rally has held up to its name for putting the word excitement into the sport.

It was battle of the Citroen DS3’s for the first, second and third sports in the wins in the international part of the competition. Tom Cave with co-driver Craig Parry bagged the first position, to make this their first MSA British Rally Championship victory, showing that this coveted championship will be anybody’s in 2012.

West Cork man Keith Cronin with Northern Ireland co-driver Marshall Clarke took second position 0.03 seconds behind Cave/Parry, not a bad result for Cronin who won the entire Championship back in 2009. Third place was very well deserved by Finnish driver Jakkro Nikara and co-driver Petri Nikara just 0.14.7 seconds behind the leader also in Citroen DS3.

The limelight was short lived from the MSA British Rally Championship first round winners Mark Donnelly and co-driver Dai Roberts, who went off early on in the competition when the car having crossed the flying finish spun and met a tree on the way led to an instant retirement. British famous driver Alastair Fisher and co-driver Daniel Barritt also went off in SS5 when a fuel leak in their Fiesta caught flame. Overall an exciting competition, third round takes place in Cumbria for the Pirelli Rally on April 27th & 28th next.

On Irish soil this weekend, it hosted Midlands Stages Rally, round 2 of the Midlands East Rally Championship. The purr and spurt of the Fort Escort Mark II won the day for Daniel McKenna and co-driver Arthur Kiernas, as well as for second place winners driver Daniel Boyle and co-driver Brian Boyle in their Ford Mark II just a mere 0.02 seconds behind McKenna/Kierans in first position. Maurice Moffett and co-driver Patrick Brides took third position 2.13 seconds behind the Boyle lads in second place. The third round of this championship takes place in Laois Stages rally on June 10th 2012.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here