Cricket Ireland announce nominees for Club and Club Player of the Year Award

Cricket Ireland announce nominees for Club and Club Player of the Year Award

Clontarf, Coleraine and YMCA short-listed in Tildenet Club of the Year, while Eddie Richardson, Kyle McCallan, Simmi Singh and Niall McDonnell nominated in O’Neills Club Player of the Year category

Cricket Ireland have announced the first nominees for the 2013 RSA Cricket Ireland Awards, which will take place on Friday 11th October in the Hilton Double Tree Hotel (formerly the Burlington) in Dublin.

Clontarf, Coleraine, and YMCA have been short-listed for the Tildenet Club of the Year, following excellent campaigns for all.

Clontarf won the RSA Irish Senior Cup for the first time in their history, as well as completing an unbeaten run to clinch the Leinster Senior Two title. The club lifted trophies at 2nd and 4th XI levels, and at youth level the Under 15 side made it a superb double for the Castle Avenue side as they won the Irish Cup.

Coleraine cricket club was another team who enjoyed unparalleled success in 2013. Without a major trophy since 1986, the Sandel Lodge outfit won a superb three major trophies. They romped home in the NW Premier League, eight points ahead of their major challengers. They also won the Ulster Cup, beating Waringstown on their home turf, and also prevailed in the Faughan Valley Cup final, holding their nerve to beat Donemana in a sudden death shoot-out.

It was an amazing season at all levels for YMCA, as the Claremont Road side collected an amazing 13 trophies. The highlights were the senior team winning the RSA Senior Cup, the Ladies section winning Senior Two, while of the nine trophies won by the youth section, pride of place was their amazing fight-back against Instonians to win the Under 11 All-Ireland decider.

Ireland’s most capped player Kyle McCallan is one of four players who have been nominated for the O’Neills Club Player of Year accolade.The Waringstown all-rounder scored 723 runs at 40.17, and also claimed 34 wickets at a miserly 11.26.

At the other end of the international spectrum, Eddie Richardson who made his debut earlier this month also enjoyed all-round success for North County. He scored 852 runs at 65.54, and took 42 wickets at 17.48.

YMCA’s Simmi Singh was the leading wicket taker in Ireland, claiming 48 wickets at 14.83, and scored 658 runs at a healthy 38.71. Coleraine and North West Warriors Niall McDonnell played an instrumental role in Coleraine’s treble campaign. The opener was the leading run scorer in the country with a mammoth 933 runs at 77.75.

For further information about the awards and to purchase tickets for the gala cricket event of the year, please visit or email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here