GAA Results: Costello helps Dublin easily beat Galway

Dublin 1-15 Galway 0-07 

All-Ireland champions Dublin coasted to a 1-15 to 0-07 win over Galway at Croke Park on Saturday in front of a very small crowd of 14,500.

Galway fielding a relatively inexperienced side hit the first two points of the game though with Cillian McDaid and Peter Cooke firing over for Kevin Walsh’s charges. It was relatively a 50-50 first half with Dublin going in narrowly at the break leading 0-06 to 0-05. Things would get worse though for Galway as Dublin powered past them in the second period. Galway would only manage two second half points to Dublin one goal and nine points. Dean Rock registered 1-05 of the winners tally. However, the man of the match was by far Cormac Costello who warmed up the spectators especially in Blue with an exhibition of point taking. Costello would go on to kick 0-06, five of which came from play and one from a free.

Galway lead by 0-03 to 0-01 at the end of the opening quarter. Dublin clawed their way into the game though and they led by the 30 minute mark after a free from Ballymun man Rock. Galway failed to make any real impact as the game went on. In the second half Dublin kicked the first five out of six scores. Mannion, Rock (2) and Costello (2) all went on to register white flags, before Rock put the gloss on the scoreboard with his goal. Jim Gavin will say there is plenty to work on but he will be delighted with the likes of league debutants Michael Flatman and Sean Bugler who were late additions to the team. Darren Gavin was also sprung from the bench as Jim Gavin’s men went on for a comfortable win to set them on their way in 2019 with their first win in the league.

Dublin: Evan Comerford; Eric Lowndes, Michael Fitzsimons, Liam Flatman; Eoin Murchan, Jonny Cooper, John Small; James McCarthy, Brian Fenton; Niall Scully (0-01, 0-01m), Cormac Costello (0-06, 1m), Sean Bugler (0-01); Ryan Basquel, Paul Mannion (0-02), Dean Rock (1-05, 0-03f).

Subs: Brian Howard for Basquel (48), Paul Flynn for Bugler (55), Jack McCaffrey for Small (60), Darren Gavin for McCarthy (61), Conor McHugh for Mannion (66).

Galway: Maghnus Breathnach; Gareth Bradshaw, Sean Kelly, Eoghan Kerin; Gary O’Donnell, Sean Andy O Ceallaigh, Johnny Heaney (0-01); Kieran Duggan, Thomas Flynn; Cillian McDaid (0-02), Johnny Duane, Peter Cooke (0-02); Padraig Cunningham, Cein D’Arcy, Shane Walsh (0-01, 0-01f).

Subs: Barry McHugh (0-01, 0-01f) for McDaid (h/t), Fintan Cooney for D’Arcy (60), Danny Cummins for Cunningham (61), Gearoid Armstrong for Cooke (62), David Cunnane for O Ceallaigh (67).

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.