Golf: GUI name squad for European Championship

Rowan Lester (Ireland) on the 3rd green during Day 3 Singles of the Home Internationals at Moortown Golf Club, Leeds, England. 18/08/2017 Picture: Golffile | Thos Caffrey All photo usage must carry mandatory copyright credit (© Golffile | Thos Caffrey)

Royal Hague hosts this year’s European Amateur Championship from 27-30 June and the Golfing Union of Ireland have named a six-man squad for the trip to the Netherlands.

The six players selected are: Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock) and Jonathan Yates (Naas).

Competition for this individual championship will be strong. The European Championship is one of just five elite tournaments in world amateur golf and previous winners include Sergio Garcia (1995) and Rory McIlroy (2006).

The European Amateur Championship is a 72-hole stroke play tournament with a 54-hole cut. The top 60 and ties after round three progress to the final round. Previous winners of the championship include McIlroy, Brian McElhinney (2003), Stephen Browne (2001) and Paddy Gribben (1998).

The GUI’s High Performance programme is supported by Sport Ireland and Sport NI.

GUI Squad – European Amateur Championship, 27-30 June, Royal Hague: Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Jonathan Yates (Naas).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.