Hockey: Coach Darren Smith Names Irish Squads for Scottish and Italian Series

National Hockey Coach Darren Smith has named his squads for the upcoming Scottish and Italian series.

The squads of 21 and 20 athletes are selected from Smith’s national panel of 25 athletes and is the start of a busy summer period for the team as they continue preparations for the World League 2 set for Dublin in March 2015.

These series will see Loreto’s Hannah Mathews and Pembroke keeper Stella Davis making their debut. Aine Connery returns to the international stage after 15 months and the experienced Alex Speers is back in action in the green jersey for the first times since the Europeans in Belgium August 2013.

Talking about the upcoming series Coach Smith said “We are looking forward to getting back out on the pitch with the new national squad for 2014. All squad members will play over the two series as we look to build toward 2015”

“After the Champions Challenge tournament it will be great to see the girls who played in Glasgow alongside some who narrowly missed selection or were unavailable. The more competition in the squad the better for Arlene, Graham, Mary and I to asses. Scotland will be a tough 2 games as they narrow their focus to the Glasgow Commonwealth Games. We expect that they will be fit, drilled and ready to go”


Ireland v Scotland (Glasgow)

June 20th Ireland v Scotland 19.00

June 22nd Ireland v Scotland 12.00

3 Nations: Ireland; Italy; Wales (Mori, Italy)

June 26th Ireland v Italy 17.30

June 27th Ireland v Wales 17.30

+ 1 Test June 29th Ireland v Italy 15.00

Scotland series, 19-22 June 2014

1. Emily Beatty (UCD)

2. Chloe Brown (Ards)

3. Naomi Carroll (Catholic Institute)

4. Kate Dillon (Railway Union)

5. Deirdre Duke (UCD)

6. Nikki Evans (UCD)

7. Megan Frazer – Captain (Holcombe HC / Ballymoney)

8. Shirley McCay (Old Alex)

9. Ayeisha Mcferran (GK) (Randalstown)

10. Katie Mullan (UCD)

11. Stella Davis (GK) (Pembroke Wanderers)

12. Ali Meeke (Loreto)

13. Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins)

14. Anna O’Flanagan (UCD)

15. Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)

16. Gillian Pinder (UCD)

17. Cliodhna Sargent – Vice Captain (Cork Harlequins)

18. Emma Smyth (Railway Union)

19. Alex Speers (Railway Union)

20. Vanessa Surgeoner (Pegasus)

21. Chloe Watkins (Club De Campo / UCD)

3 Nations Ireland, Italy, Wales 25-29 June 2014

1. Naomi Carroll (Catholic Institute)

2. Aine Connery (Hermes)

3. Nicci Daly (Holcombe / Loreto)

4. Kate Dillon (Railway Union)

5. Deirdre Duke (UCD)

6. Nikki Evans (UCD)

7. Megan Frazer – Captain (Holcombe HC / Ballymoney)

8. Emma Gray (GK) (Hermes)

9. Hannah Matthews (Loreto)

10. Stella Davis (GK) (Pembroke Wanderers)

11. Ali Meeke (Loreto)

12. Yvonne O’Byrne (Cork Harlequins)

13. Anna O’Flanagan (UCD)

14. Audrey O’Flynn (Hermes)

15. Gillian Pinder (UCD)

16. Cliodhna Sargent – Vice Captain (Cork Harlequins)

17. Emma Smyth (Railway Union)

18. Alex Speers (Railway Union)

19. Vanessa Surgeoner (Pegasus)

20. Chloe Watkins (Club De Campo / UCD)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here