Ireland’s Marathon Teams for European Athletics Championships in Berlin next August

A total of eleven Irish athletes have been selected to run for the marathon at the European Athletics Championships in Berlin in August.

The Irish team includes five Olympians – Lizzie Lee (Leevale), Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers), Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock), Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders) and Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s) – and a number of athletes in good form.

Kevin Seaward recently finished fourth in the marathon for Northern Ireland at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast while Stephen Scullion ran a personal best of 2:15:55 at the London marathon last weekend.

The marathon in Berlin also encompasses the European Cup team competition and the Irish teams will be looking to combine well collectively as well as individually.


Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers AC)

Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers AC)

Laura Graham (Mourne Runners AC)

Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC)

Claire McCarthy (Leevale AC)


Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC)

Seán Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF AC)

Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders AC)

Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s AC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.