Irish Open Tenpin Bowling Championships 2016

The 2016 EBT Irish Open Championships in association with Storm Products kicks off in Leisureplex Stillorgan, Dublin on Sunday January 10th.

The week-long event, which is the second stop on the 2016 European Bowling Tour, gets underway with an opening squad made up of mostly home players at 18:30 pm.

Qualifying squads will then continue from Wednesday January 13th, with two squads that evening and then squads running all day Thursday and Friday and concluding on Saturday afternoon.

210 of the best players in European and World tenpin bowling, representing 12 different countries, will play 6-games qualifying in a re-entry-style tournament, where bowlers can play multiple squads and use their best 6-game series in an attempt to make the final rounds.

This year sees the return of defending champion, American hall-of-famer Brian Voss, as well as several other past champions, such as England’s Paul Moor and Norway’s Tore Torgersen.

Other recent champions making the trip to Dublin include England’s Jamie Bottomley and Lisa John, and Ireland’s only ever male winner Barry Foley.

There are also several other notable entrants in 2016, none more so than American Tim Mack, who represents main sponsor Storm Products at this year’s event. Mack is most well-known by European tenpin bowling fans as the man who captained Team USA in the Weber Cup (bowling’s equivalent of the Ryder Cup) against Europe for most of the 00’s.

Home hopes will sit most notably on the shoulders of young talent Christopher Sloan, with the 21-year-old having performed exceptionally in tournaments around the world in the past 18 months. The Swords bowler, now based full-time in Sweden, will have high aspirations going into the week and will no doubt have his sights set on a home win.

2016 sees a livestream of the event return for a second year after a hugely successful streaming service last year, with all squads being broadcast live from Thursday afternoon. The stream will be run once again by Dominic Gall of major tenpin bowling website and Dutch Bowling TV’s Simon Scheppers.

The tournament will come to a close on Sunday January 17th, with the final 16 players contesting a knockout match-play finals until one person is crowned EBT Irish Open Champion 2016, along with the €5,000 first prize. There will also be €750 up for grabs for the highest-placed female bowler, and €1,000 for the highest placed senior player. In total €20,000 in cash prizes will be given out for the event.

For further information on the event please contact the Tournament Director Sean Kennedy on +353 868248222 or at Leisureplex Stillorgan on +353 1 2881656.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.