Jack McGrath wins Leinster Rugby players player of the year award

Leinster players past and present were in attendance at the Mansion House in Dublin City Centre for the annual Leinster Rugby Awards Ball which recognises the achievements of those involved in the game at a domestic and at a professional level.

Risteard Cooper was MC as the club took the opportunity to say a fond farewell to Leo Cullen and Brian O’Driscoll, in addition to departing coaches Jono Gibbes and Greg Feek. Risteard, with the help of Shane Jennings and Shane Horgan took them all on a magical mystery tour through their time at Leinster!

Leinster Rugby President Paul Deering opened proceedings and congratulated the winners for their outstanding contributions throughout the season while also reminding everyone that there was still much to play for!

Kevin Flynn of Wanderers was the latest inductee into the Leinster Rugby Hall of Fame and the former Irish centre who won 22 caps over three decades and five tries including a famous one at Twickenham in 1972, told how they were denied the chance to win an historic Grand Slam when the Scots and Welsh refused to travel due to the Troubles.

Selected domestic awards included NUIM Barnhall winning the Canterbury Senior Club of the Year, Clondalkin winning the BDO Junior Club of the Year, Tullow RFC winning the CityJet Womens Section of the Year, Sophie Spence won the Donnelly Women’s Senior Player of the Year, while Newbridge College won the Cleaning Contractors School of the Year.

The top two professional awards of the evening went to Marty Moore who was awarded the Best Menswear Young Player of the Year, while Jack McGrath was awarded the Bank of Ireland Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Full List of Winners – Leinster Rugby Awards Ball 2014

Barry Lambkin (Portarlingtion) – PRO of the Year (sponsored by the Irish Independent)
Wexford CBS – Special Merit School
Tullow RFC – Women’s Section of the Year (sponsored by CityJet)
Sophie Spence – Women’s Senior Player of the Year (sponsored by Donnelly)
Jarrod Bromley – Outstanding Contribution to Leinster Supporters (sponsored by The Herald)
Garda RFC – Special Merit Club
NUIM Barnhall – Senior Club of the Year (sponsored by Canterbury)
Clondalkin – Junior Club of the Year (sponsored by BDO)
Newbridge College – School of the Year (Sponsored by Cleaning Contractors)
Navan RFC – Youths Section of the Year (sponsored by RiverRock)
Kevin Flynn – Hall of Fame (sponsored by Guinness)
Jimmy Gopperth – Tackle of the Year (sponsored by Conrad Hotel)
Dave Kearney v Ospreys in the RaboDirect PRO12 – Try of the Year (sponsored by the Irish Independent)
Martin Moore – Best Menswear Young Player of the Year
Jack McGrath – Bank of Ireland Players’ Player of the Year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here