Longford march on in Leinster MFC

    Leinster champions,Longford beat Wicklow by 4-14 to 0-4 at Pearse Park on Saturday to advance to a quarter-final meeting with Dublin.

    The clash of the big two will now take place at the same venue next Saturday, May 14th, at 7pm.

    Robbie Smyth, Barry McKeon and Brian Walsh scored first-half goals to give the midlanders a commanding lead. McKeon was the star man on the evening and scored 2-3 of his county’s tally.

    Longford hit 1-2 inside the opening five minutes,and the game was soon over as a contest. Smyth scored the goal from the penalty spot. McKeon netted his opening goal in the 14th minute and Walsh scored the third after 20 minutes. With a 13 point halftime lead,it was all over for Wicklow and the second half didn’t get any easier.

    Longford: Gareth Higgins; Michael McHugh, Barry O’Farrell, John Gill; Shane Clarke, Brian Collum, Cian Farrelly; Robbie Smyth (1-2), Timmy Jackson; Daniel Mimnagh (0-1), Conor Clarke (0-1), Cillian Lynn; Barry McKeon (2-3), James McGivney (0-3), Brian Walsh (1-1). Subs: Marin Mulligan for S Clarke (36); Paudge Gill for T Jackson (36); Gary Maguire (0-1) for R Smyth (52); Andy Dalton for C Farrelly (52); Ross McNerney for D Mimnagh (56).

    Wicklow: Colin Smullen; Stephen Murphy, Andrew Corrigan, John Manley; Mikey Healy (0-1), Padraig Geoghegan, Justin O’Brien; Jimmy Kelly, Jamie Snell; Ronan Byrne, Conor McKenna, Theo Smith (0-2); Daniel Keane, Adam Conway, Paul Ellis (0-1). Subs: Philip Murphy for J Manley (13); Niall Crosbie for R Byrne (28); Sean Olohan for C McKenna (ht); Aongus O’Brien for S Murphy (48).


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here