Mark McAuley and Miebello win the Speed Derby at the Dublin Horse Show

Mark McAuley and Miebello won the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge Speed Derby. Credit: Breandán Ó hUallacháin.

Mark McAuley, from Ardee, Co. Louth, maintained Ireland’s winning record at this year’s Stena Line Dublin Horse Show as he took the first International class in the Main Arena on Thursday with Miebello.

The Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge Speed Derby for the award of the Paul Darragh Memorial Perpetual Challenge Trophy saw 16 combinations go against the clock over the Alan Wade-designed course.

McAuley and Miebello, second to go in the running order, went clear in 86.30 seconds, in a class where each knocked fence saw four seconds added to the competitor’s time.

Cian O’Connor and Diego were only 0.09 seconds behind the winner. Credit: Breandán Ó hUallacháin.

Cian O’Connor and Diego, winners of the Minerva Stakes on Day 1, took the runner-up spot, just 0.09 seconds behind the Louth man, while Barbara Schnieper, who will ride for Switzerland in the Longines FEI Nations Cup for the award of The Aga Khan Trophy on Friday, finished in third place with Dickens II, as they also went clear in a time of 86.30 seconds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.