TG4 to broadcast Ireland rugby fixtures at Under-20 World Cup

Great news this morning with TG4 confirming that it will broadcast Ireland’s fixtures at the 2014 IRB Junior World Championship (Under-20 World Cup) live from New Zealand next week.

It will have live coverage of all of Ireland’s Pool B matches as well as both Semi-Finals and the Final.  Ireland share pool B with France, Fiji and Wales and open their tournament against France on Monday, 2nd June in QBE Stadium, Auckland.


TG4’s extensive coverage will also include deferred coverage as well as various highlights show. The full line-up of live matches on TG4 is as follows:


POOL B:  Ireland, Wales, Fiji, France


Ireland v France,  Live from the QBE Stadium, Auckland      Kick-off: 6:35am (Irish Time)
TG4’s live coverage begins at 6:25am.

Full repeat with deferred coverage again at 11:35am.

Ireland v Wales,  Live from the ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe      Kick-off: 6:35am (Irish Time)

TG4’s live coverage begins at 6:25am.

Highlights on TG4 at 8:30pm that evening.


Ireland v Fiji,  Live from the QBE Stadium, Auckland       Kick-off:  2:35am(Irish Time)

TG4’s live coverage begins at 2:25am

Full repeat deferred coverage again at 12:30pm.
Highlights on TG4 at 7:30pm that evening.




Live coverage on TG4 of both IRB Junior World Championship Semi-Finals

Kick-off:  6:05am (Irish Time)    2nd Seed v 3rd Seed   Venue:  QBE Stadium, Auckland

Kick-off:  8:35am (Irish Time)    1st Seed v 4th Seed    Venue: QBE Stadium, Auckland

TG4’s live coverage begins at 5:55am
Highlights on TG4 at 7:15pm that evening.


Live coverage on TG4 of the IRB Junior World Championship Final
Kick off:  8:35am  (Irish Time)    Live from Eden Park, Auckland

TG4’s live coverage begins at 8:25am.

Highlights on TG4 at 8:30pm that evening.



EVENT:           IRB Junior World Championships 2014

DATES:           2nd to 20th June 2014

Coverage:       Live coverage on TG4 of all three of Ireland’s matches in Pool B & Live coverage of the Semi-Finals and Final – 6 matches in total will be broadcast Live on TG4

Three Changes to Ireland Under-20 Squad for IRB Junior World Championship
For Immediate Release
Three changes have been made to the Ireland under-20 Squad, sponsored by PwC, traveling to the IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand.

Captain, Sean O’Brien has been ruled out of traveling due to ongoing treatment for an ankle injury sustained during the RBS 6 Nations. He will be replaced in the squad Oisin Heffernan. Jack O’Donoghue will captain the side.

Peter Robb has been ruled out due to an ankle injury he picked up during the under-20 warm up game against Scotland a fortnight ago.  Harrison Brewer has been called into the squad.

Forward, Ian Fitzpatrick comes into the side to replace David Busby who picked up a knee injury during a training session.

Ireland share pool B with France, Fiji and Wales and open their tournament against France on Monday, 2nd June in QBE Stadium, Auckland.

Ireland’s pool games will be broadcast live on TG4 along with the semi-finals and final games of the tournament.

Ireland U-20 Squad (IRB Junior Rugby World Championship Squad 2014) 
Max Abbott (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Rory Burke (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Ross Byrne (UCD – Leinster)
Harrison Brewer (Terenure College – Leinster)
Denis Coulson (Lansdowne – Leinster)
William Dardis (UCD – Leinster)*
Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster – Munster)*
Dylan Donnellan (UCD – Leinster)*
Peter Dooley (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians – Connacht)*
Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster – Munster)
Oisin Heffernan (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Josh Murphy (UCD – Leinster)
Nick McCarthy (UCD – Leinster)
Conor McKeon (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Ross Molony (UCD – Leinster)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemian – Munster) Capt
Garry Ringrose (UCD – Leinster)
Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
Peadar Timmins (UCD – Leinster)
Craig Trenier (Terenure – Leinster)*
Alex Wootton (Garryowen – Munster)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.