Aidan O’Brien holds a strong hand in Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial Stakes on Sunday

Champion Flat trainer Aidan O’Brien has entered eight horses as he bids to win the Group 3 Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial Stakes for the first time in four years at Leopardstown on Sunday.

Sunday will announce many hopefuls for this seasons classics it will be like cards reveal on Baccarat Squeeze as the horse run their races at the weekend.

The Ballydoyle-based trainer has won the race on ten previous occasions and was last successful in 2013 with Battle Of Marengo. Douglas Macarthur, Yucatan and Capri, second, third and fourth respectively to Rekindling in the Group 3 P.W. McGrath Memorial Ballysax Stakes over the course and distance in April head the Ballydoyle team which also features the impressive Tipperary maiden winner, Venice Beach. Joseph O’Brien rode Battle Of Marengo to win for his father and he has entered Druids Cross, a maiden winner at Dundalk in November.

Jim Bolger won this race in 2016 with Moonlight Magic and he has entered Dubai Sand, a fifth place finisher in the P.W. McGrath Memorial Ballysax Stakes. Ger Lyons could be represented by Insayshable which beat Willie McCreery’s entry Naturalist and the Aidan O’Brien-trained Venice Beach to win his maiden over the course and distance a month ago. Michael O’Callaghan has entered his Navan runner-up Night Of Glory. There are 13 entries for the €100,000 race in total.

The Derrinstown Stud 1,000 Guineas Trial Stakes has attracted an early field of 14, including the Ralph Beckett-trained unbeaten Sibilance. Aidan O’Brien is responsible for five entries including the clear-cut Tipperary maiden winner Alluringly and Rain Goddess, fourth in the Fred Darling Stakes at Newbury on her most recent start.

Dermot Weld has entered the exciting Naas winner Sorelle Delle Rose while Fozzy Stack has put Angel Island, a winner at Cork on her first start, in this €60,000 contest.

A field of nine runners has been entered for the €63,000 Group 3 Ard Glen Construction Amethyst Stakes, won last year by the Jim Bolger-trained Steip Amach. Bolger has entered Tribal Beat in the race this time and he beat the Aidan O’Brien-trained Cougar Mountain to win the Group 3 Invesco Pension Consultants Desmond Stakes over the course and distance in August. Cougar Mountain, beaten a short-head in this race last year, and Peace Envoy, unlucky not to have finished closer at Naas on Sunday, are the two Ballydoyle entries. Dermot Weld, who won the race three times with Famous Name (2010-12), could be represented this time by both Foxtrot Charlie and Raymonda. Co. Cork-born British-based trainer David O’Meara has entered Custom Cut, a two-time winner over the course and distance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here