List of runners entered for Cheltenham’s Ryanair Chase

Cue Card (Colin Tizzard) could bid for a second victory in the £300,000 Grade One Ryanair Chase on the third day of The Festival, St Patrick’s Thursday, March 16.

The 11-year-old ran away with the near two-mile, five-furlong contest in 2013 when thrashing First Lieutenant by nine lengths, and has since established himself as one of Britain’s leading staying chasers.

He fell at the third last when going strongly in the 2016 Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup, losing the chance of both glory and the £1-million bonus offered by Jockey Club Racecourses for the Chase Triple Crown. Cue Card captured his third G1 Betfair Chase at Haydock Park in November before chasing home impressive stablemate Thistlecrack in the G1 32Red King George VI Chase at Kempton Park over Christmas. Colin Tizzard’s five entries also include French import Alary, who is yet to run for the stable and is entered in the Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup like Cue Card, G2 Shloer Chase victor Fox NortonSizing Granite andViconte Du Noyer. The last three also hold entries in the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase.
Willie Mullins accounts for seven of the 18 Irish-trained entries. The septet features hot Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase favourite Douvan, dual Timico Cheltenham Gold Cup runner-up Djakadam, 2015 Racing Post Arkle Chase victor Un De Sceaux and the star mare Vroum Vroum Mag.
Among Henry de Bromhead’s three contenders is Down Royal G1 scorer Valseur Lido, runner-up last year when trained by Willie Mullins, while Gordon Elliott has course and distance scorer Empire Of Dirtand Outlander in his three entries. Other possibles include Uxizandre (Alan King), off the course since winning the 2015 Ryanair Chase, French-trained Vezelay (Emmanuel Clayeux FR), third on his British debut in the Betfair Chase, BetVictor Gold Cup scorer Taquin De Seuil (Jonjo O’Neill) and Ar Mad (Gary Moore).
The Ryanair Chase
Grade 1, £300,000 Total Prize Fund. 2.50pm, Cheltenham, Thursday, March 16, 2017, two miles & five furlongs (2m 4f 166y). For 5yo+ who are allotted a rating of 130 or more by the BHA Head of Handicapping following a review of the horses entered and after taking account of races run up to and including March 9 – horses who are not qualified for a rating in Great Britain, Ireland or France may also be entered & such horses may be eligible providing the Handicapper is satisfied that the horse’s racecourse performances up to and including March 9 would merit a minimum rating of 130 (the decision of the BHA Head of Handicapping shall be final). Weights: 11st 10lb. Allowances: mares 7lb. Entries closed January 10, entries revealed January 12 (48 entries), scratchings deadline February 14, £15,000 supplementary entry stage and six-day confirmation stage March 10. Final 48-hour declaration stage, 10.00am, March 14. Maximum number of runners – 24.
Horse Age Owner Trainer
ALARY (FR) 7 Ann & Alan Potts Colin Tizzard
AR MAD (FR) 7 Ashley Head Gary Moore
ARCTIC SKIPPER (IRE) 8 L Halley Vincent Halley IRE
ART MAURESQUE (FR) 7 Mrs Johnny de la Hey Paul Nicholls
ASO (FR) 7 The Bellamy Partnership Venetia Williams
BALLYCASEY (IRE) 10 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
BLACK HERCULES (IRE) 8 Andrea & Graham Wylie Willie Mullins IRE
BRISTOL DE MAI (FR) 6 Simon Munir & Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies
CARRAIG MOR (IRE) 9 Masterson Holdings Limited Alan King
CHAMPAGNE FEVER (IRE) 10 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
CHAMPAGNE WEST (IRE) 9 Roger Brookhouse Henry de Bromhead IRE
COLD MARCH (FR) 7 Andrew Brooks Venetia Williams
CUE CARD 11 Jean Bishop Colin Tizzard
DJAKADAM (FR) 8 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
DODGING BULLETS 9 Martin Broughton & Friends Paul Nicholls
DOUVAN (FR) 7 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
EMPIRE OF DIRT (IRE) 10 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
FOX NORTON (FR) 7 Ann & Alan Potts Colin Tizzard
GOD’S OWN (IRE) 9 Crossed Fingers Partnership Tom George
IRISH CAVALIER (IRE) 8 Andrew McIver Rebecca Curtis
JOSSES HILL (IRE) 9 Alan Spence Nicky Henderson
KING’S ODYSSEY (IRE) 8 William & Angela Rucker Evan Williams
KYLEMORE LOUGH 8 M J McMahon & Denis Gallagher Kerry Lee
LONG HOUSE HALL (IRE) 9 Carl Hinchy Dan Skelton
MORE OF THAT (IRE) 9 J P McManus Jonjo O’Neill
OUTLANDER (IRE) 9 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
ROAD TO RICHES (IRE) 10 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade IRE
ROI DES FRANCS (FR) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Gordon Elliott IRE
ROYAL REGATTA (IRE) 9 Lesley Field & Eileen Murphy Philip Hobbs
SAPHIR DU RHEU (FR) 8 The Stewart Family Paul Nicholls
SHANTOU FLYER (IRE) 7 Carl Hinchy Rebecca Curtis
SIZING GRANITE (IRE) 9 Ann & Alan Potts Colin Tizzard
SIZING JOHN 7 Ann & Alan Potts Partnership Jessica Harrington IRE
SMAD PLACE (FR) 10 Mrs Peter Andrews Alan King
SMASHING (FR) 8 Ann & Alan Potts Partnership Mouse Morris IRE
SUB LIEUTENANT (IRE) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE
TAQUIN DU SEUIL (FR) 10 Martin Broughton & Friends 1 Jonjo O’Neill
TRAFFIC FLUIDE (FR) 7 Galloping On The South Downs Partnership Gary Moore
UN DE SCEAUX (FR) 9 Edward O’Connell Willie Mullins IRE
UXIZANDRE (FR) 9 J P McManus Alan King
VALSEUR LIDO (FR) 8 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE
VANITEUX (FR) 8 Richard & Lizzie Kelvin-Hughes Nicky Henderson
VEZELAY (FR) 8 P Joubert Emmanuel Clayeux FR
VIBRATO VALTAT (FR) 8 Axom XLIII Paul Nicholls
VICONTE DU NOYER (FR) 8 Ann & Alan Potts Colin Tizzard
VILLAGE VIC (IRE) 10 Alan Peterson Philip Hobbs
VROUM VROUM MAG (FR) 8 Susannah Ricci Willie Mullins IRE
ZABANA (IRE) 8 Chris Jones Andrew Lynch IRE
48 entries
18 Irish-trained
1 French-trained


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.