Michael Winters 3/1 favourite to land 2013 HRI Outstanding

The 2013 HRI Award nominations were announced on Monday and Boylesports has priced up the Outstanding Achievement Award.

Trainer Michael Winters heads the betting at 3/1 whilst hot on his heels are Grand National winning trainer Dot Love and Co. Meath based trainer Edward Lynam at 4/1.

Charles Byrnes is on offer at 6/1 alongside Royal Ascot winning trainer Joanna Morgan. Willie McCreery is also available at 6/1 following a tremendous year, crowned off when he saddled Fiesolana to land the Group Two Challenge Stakes at Newmarket.

Chris Hayes who rode La Collina to land the Group One Matron Stakes and also Voleuse de Coeurs to land the Group One Irish St Leger is on offer at 12/1 alongside jockey Barry Cash.

Liam Glynn, PR Executive at Boylesports said “Michael Winters has had a remarkable year and after saddling Missunited to land the Galway Hurdle and also Rebel Fitz to win five chases this year he is a worthy favourite at 3/1.

He added “Dot Love is also a major contender after the Mullingar based trainer saddled Liberty Council to land the 2013 Irish Grand National.

This year, for the first time, members of the public will have an opportunity to vote on the ‘Outstanding Achievement’ category, through a new HRI Awards app, which will be available for download from iTunes and Google Play later this week. The App also contains information about the awards and each of the nominees, an image gallery, all the latest news and will also allow members of the public to watch the awards live.


In addition, the ‘Racecourse of the Year’ Award, won by Ballinrobe Racecourse last year, will be chosen by the Racegoers Consultative Forum. The ‘Contribution to Industry’ Award, will be announced at the awards ceremony on Monday, December 9th at Leopardstown Racecourse.


Brian Kavanagh, Chief Executive of HRI said: “The HRI Awards acknowledge excellence in the horse racing industry where Ireland continues to achieve enviable success in a highly-competitive international arena. We have some of the best breeders, owners, trainers and jockeys and it’s important to recognise this success. A highlight this year was achieving a record-breaking fourteen Irish-trained winners at Cheltenham and eight Irish-trained winners at Royal Ascot. ”

2013 HRI Outstanding Achievement Award

Michael Winters 3/1

Edward Lynam 4/1

Dot Love 4/1

Charles Byrne 6/1

Willie McCreery 6/1

Joanna Morgan 6/1

Chris Hayes 12/1

Barry Cash 12/1

Five category winners will be decided by a ballot of the Irish Racing Media. This year’s feature Award, the Horse of the Year category, includes nominations for English 2000 Guineas winner Dawn Approach; 17-time Grade 1 winner Hurricane Fly; winner of the Juddmonte International Stakes, Declaration of War; Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas and Breeders’ Cup Turf winner Magician; Cheltenham and Punchestown winner Quevega and dual Grade 1 winning chaser, Sir Des Champs.


The nominees in the National Hunt category are Bryan Cooper, Tony Martin, Willie Mullins, Davy Russell and Ruby Walsh.


The Flat nominees are Jim Bolger, Kevin Manning, Johnny Murtagh, Aidan O’Brien and Joseph O’Brien.


The Point-to-Point category includes Trainers Gordon Elliott, Declan McNamara and Rodger Sweeney and Jockeys Jamie Codd and Derek O’Connor.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.