All-Ireland League Rugby – Cork Con’s lead extends to four points at summit

Cork Constitution extended their lead at the top of Division 1A of the All Ireland League with an emphatic home victory over Young Munster, while a bonus point win for Lansdowne saw the Dublin side move into second place.

Division 1A

Clontarf 12 Dublin University 16
Cork Constitution 26 Young Munster 3
Lansdowne 31 UCC 15
UCD 31 Terenure College 3
Garryowen 30 Shannon 29

Dublin University consigned former Division 1A leaders Clontarf to their second successive defeat as they triumphed 16-12 in game of two halves at Castle Avenue, while Trinity’s fourth win in five rounds keeps them right in the play-off hunt, lying fourth in the table, as they claimed a significant scalp on the back of centre James Hickey’s first half try and 11 points from the boot of out-half James Fennelly, the top flight’s leading scorer with 77 points.

Joe McSwiney’s 32nd-minute maul try set Cork Constitution on their way to convincing 26-3 bonus point victory over Young Munster at Temple Hill, a result which extended the Cork side’s lead at the top of Division 1A to four points.

Flanker Aaron Conneely took his tally to four tries in two games as Lansdowne continued their winning ways with a 31-15 bonus point success at home to UCC, a result which sees the Dublin side move up to second in the table.

First half tries from captain Alex Penny, Brian Cawley and Stephen McVeigh laid the foundations for UCD’s first victory in four rounds as they completed an easy 31-3 bonus point win over bottom side Terenure College.

Garryowen came from 11 points down with 13 minutes remaining to defeat fellow Limerick side Shannon by 30-29 in a game full of tries.

Division 1B

Ballymena 18 Ballynahinch 10
City Of Armagh 16 Naas 11
Malone 12 Old Wesley 16,
Old Belvedere 11 Buccaneers 10
St. Mary’s College 28 Banbridge 7

Division 2A

Blackrock College 24 Old Crescent 10
Navan 28 Galwegians 7
Nenagh Ormond 17 Highfield 36
Queen’s University 13 Cashel 19
UL Bohemians 29 Dolphin 14

Division 2B

Belfast Harlequins 10 Skerries 10
Dungannon 17 Greystones 20
Corinthians 17 Sligo 19
Sunday’s Well 6 Rainey Old Boys 41
MU Barnhall v Wanderers(match postponed due to death of Wanderers FC President John Roche Kelly)

Division 2C

Omagh 34 Seapoint 5
Ballina 14 Bangor 12
Malahide 19 Bruff 14
Midleton 36 City of Derry 7
Thomond 20 Tullamore 27


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.