Andrew Trimble big winner at Heineken Ulster Rugby Awards

Andrew Trimble was a triple winner at tonight’s Heineken Ulster Rugby Awards Dinner.

The Ulster and Ireland winger collected the Bank of Ireland Ulster Player of the Year Award as well as being named Ulster Rugby Writers Player of the Year and Ulster Rugby Supporters Club (URSC) Player of the Year.

Trimble’s excellent 12 months was recalled at the awards ceremony, which was held at the Europa Hotel in central Belfast.

Andrew Trimble has had a remarkable season – both for Ulster and for Ireland. He has always been a fantastic performer but this year has raised his game to another, stellar level.

Ulster Captain, Johann Muller, who will retire from rugby at the end of this season was named Heineken Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year.

The citation paid tribute to the South African’s outstanding contribution to Ulster Rugby:

He is an adopted Ulsterman, a commanding presence who quickly learned what it meant to wear the red hand and who became as passionate about bringing success to the province as any longstanding supporter.

Ulster and Ireland outhalf, Paddy Jackson was named BT Young Player of the Year, after a season that has seen him excel for Ulster and become an important member of the Ireland squad.

Ex Bangor Grammar School pupil, Stuart McCloskey, was named Hughes Insurance Ulster Rugby Academy Player of the Season, after making his breakthrough for the senior team this season. As the judges said, he is a big player with a big future.

Ballynahinch RFC were named Kukri Sportswear Club of the Year for the second year running, reflecting the consistency that the County Down club has maintained at all levels.

Michael Black was named Winemark Referee of the Year and was described as a credit to his province and to the Ulster Society of Rugby Football Referees.

Jemma Jackson was awarded the Errigle Womens Player of the Year prize and Ballymena’s Adrian Hamilton was given the Ken Goodall Award for the Outstanding Club Player of the Year.

The Dorrington B Faulkner Award, which goes each year to a person who is deemed to have given exceptional service to rugby in Ulster, was presented to Cecil Watson.

A former player at Malone, he served as President of the IRFU Ulster Branch and the IRFU Committee. In recent years he was Chairman of the Redevelopment Committee at Ulster Rugby. His vision, hard work and dedication have been central to the successful delivery of the Ravenhill Stadium project.

Jacob Stockdale, from Wallace High School was named Danske Bank Schools Player of the Season, while Adam McBurney, from Randalstown RFC, was presented with the Ulster Carpets Youth Player of the Season award. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.