Australia to host Ireland in three Test series in June 2018

Australia will host Ireland in the first three-Test series played between the two nations in June next year for which the Lansdowne Cup will be awarded.

The three Tests will be played at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane (June 9th), Melbourne’s AAMI Park (June 16th) and Sydney’s Allianz Stadium (June 23rd).

The tour was announced as Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D. Higgins visited the Australian Rugby headquarters at Moore Park, during his State Visit to Australia.

Ireland, currently world ranked number 4, won both of their two most-recent encounters with the Wallabies by a three-point margin (2014 and 2016, both in Dublin) but have not played a Test in Australia since 2010.

The Irish have played two Test matches on tour against the Wallabies on four previous occasions (1979, 1994, 1999 and 2003).

IRFU CEO Philip Browne said: “The IRFU are delighted to tour Australia in June 2018.  Games involving Ireland and Australia are always great occasions and this is will be an exciting tour. The Irish Diaspora is renowned for supporting the Irish team when they visit their new homes so we know there will be a party atmosphere to match the world class rugby.”

Australia and Ireland have met on 33 occasions in Test matches with the Wallabies holding a healthy lead in the head-to-head stakes with 21 wins to Ireland’s 11. The lone draw between the two nations was in 2009 in Croke Park.

The Wallabies haven’t lost on home soil to Ireland since 1979.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here