Connacht make four changes for Ulster clash

Friday night marks the second instalment of back-to-back interprovincial ties for Connacht as they travel to Ravenhill to take on Ulster.

Head Coach Eric Elwood has made four changes to his starting XV following the side’s victory over Leinster last week.

Up front, Denis Buckley makes way for Brett Wilkinson as loosehead prop while Ronan Loughney, who last week was called up to the Irish training squad, returns to the tighthead prop position.

Elsewhere in the pack, Dave Gannon replaces Eoin McKeon as blindside flanker. Gannon is joined in the back row by former Ulster flanker Willie Faloon, who tomorrow will captain Connacht.

There are no changes to the backs with Dan Parks making his second appearance for the province as out half. Try scorers from last week Tiernan O’Halloran and Fetu’u Vainikolo start again on the wing while the centre partnership of Eoin Griffin and Dave McSharry remains.

Kickoff in Ravenhill is at 19:05.

Connacht XV

15. Robbie Henshaw
14. Tiernan O’Halloran
13. Eoin Griffin
12. Dave McSharry
11. Fetu’u Vainikolo
10. Dan Parks
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Brett Wilkinson
2. Adrian Flavin
3. Ronan Loughney
4. Michael Swift
5. Mike McCarthy
6. Dave Gannon
7. Willie Faloon (captain)
8. George Naoupu

Replacements (from):

16. Jason Harris-Wright
17. Denis Buckley
18. Nathan White
19. John Muldoon
20. Johnny O’Connor
21. Dave Moore
22. Miah Nikora
23. Mata Fifita

Unavailable for selection due to injury: Andrew Browne, Gavin Duffy, Matt Healy, Matthew Jarvis, Eoin McKeon, Frank Murphy, Brian Murphy, Dave Nolan, Paul O’Donohoe, Danie Poolman, Kyle Tonetti

William Hill Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here