First Year Players announced for Leinster Rugby Academy for 2019/20

It’s probably the best academy in the rugby world so places are very scarce, so five lucky players have made the cut to enter the Leinster academy for the 2019/20 season.

The list of Year One players includes Tom Clarkson (DUFC), Charlie Ryan (UCD), Brian Deeny (Clontarf), Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere) and Liam Turner (DUFC).

Four of the five were named in the extended Ireland Under 20s squad for this year’s World Rugby Championship in Argentina. UCD’s Charlie Ryan was named captain of the squad.

Noel McNamara, the recently appointed Leinster Rugby Academy Manager said, “This is a significant announcement for these young men that have all impressed over the last few years and we are delighted to be able to reward them with Academy contracts.

“However, they would be the first to recognise that the real hard work starts now but they will look at the progress of the likes of Scott Penny and Hugh O’Sullivan and will know what can be achieved even in your first year.

“We wish them the very best of luck in the Academy system and look forward to supporting them throughout that journey.”

Leinster Rugby have already confirmed that seven players have been promoted from the Leinster Academy system and will start the 2019/20 season as part of the Senior squad.

Leinster Rugby – Senior Contracts 2019/20:

Ciarán Frawley (14 caps)
Hugo Keenan (5 caps)
Rónan Kelleher (2 caps)
Conor O’Brien (17 caps)
Jimmy O’Brien (7 caps)
Hugh O’Sullivan (14 caps)
Scott Penny (6 caps)

Leinster Rugby Academy – Year Three:

Jack Aungier
Oisín Dowling (4 caps)
Gavin Mullin (2 caps)
Tommy O’Brien

Leinster Rugby Academy – Year Two:

Ryan Baird (1 cap)
Harry Byrne
Jack Dunne (5 caps)
David Hawkshaw
Michael Milne
Aaron O’Sullivan
Patrick Patterson (3 caps)
Dan Sheehan
Michael Silvester

Leinster Rugby Academy – Year One:


Tom Clarkson
Brian Deeny
Martin Moloney
Charlie Ryan


Liam Turner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.