Ireland Sevens Team for RugbyX – Tues 29th Oct in O2 Arena

Whats is rugbyx you might ask. RugbyX is full contact rugby on a half-sized pitch. Each team will have five players on the pitch at any one time with up to seven rolling substitutes.

The Ireland Men’s and Women’s 7s squads have been named to take part in the inaugural Rugby X tournament. This one-day event takes place on Tuesday 29th October in the O2 Arena in London.

Rules of RUGBYX

RugbyX is a new, fast paced format of rugby which is World Rugby approved. Lineouts, conversions and penalties have been removed which will lead to a quicker game. Ten minutes long with no half time.

Whos Competing

Ireland, England, France, USA, Argentina and The Barbarians are competing in the Men’s competition.

Ireland are named in group A, alongside The Barbarians and England.

Irish, English, French and Americans are competing in the women’s competition. Both competitions are running alongside with each other.

Speaking ahead of the announcement, Anthony Eddy, Director of Sevens Rugby said, “We are really looking forward to competing at RugbyX in London, it should be a great spectacle of rugby. . There is some great opposition and it should be a tremendous display of skills.”

Tickets are available for this spectacular rugby event from

Ireland Men and Women Sevens Schedule

16:30 Ireland Men v Barbarians
17:00 Ireland Women v USA
17:15 Ireland Men v England
20:30 Men QF 1
20:45 Men QF2
21:00 Women 3rd/4th Play-off
21:15 Men Semi-Final 1
21:30 Men Semi-Final 2
21:45 Women’s Final
22:00 Men’s Final

Ireland Men 7s Squad for RugbyX

Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/ Leinster Rugby),
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne),
Billy Dardis (Terenure),
Cormac Izuchukwu (Old Wesley),
Greg O’Shea (Shannon),
Harry McNulty (UCD),
Hugo Lennox (Clontarf),
Mark Roche (Lansdowne),
Terry Kennedy (St Marys),
Max O’Reilly (DUFC/ Leinster Rugby),
Sean Cribbin (Old Belvedere),
Jack Daly (Garryowen/ Munster)

Ireland Women 7s Squad for RugbyX
Claire Boles (Railway Union/ Ulster)
Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Kathy Baker (Blackrock/ Leinster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Lucinda Kinghan (Railway Union/Ulster)
Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster)
Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.