Ireland U20 side named to play Wales

Noel McNamara head coach of the Ireland men’s U20 team has announced his Grand Slam XV who will face Wales in Colwyn Bay on Friday night with a 7.05pm kick off. Ireland secured the title last weekend beating France 31-29, they will look to claim the Grand Slam in a game which is live on RTE Television.

The side just shows one change from that win over France. Harry Byrne makes his return having missed out on the French game due to injury. The forwards will see Josh Wycherley and Thomas Clarkson start, Dylan Tierney Martin will start at hooker. In the second row Charlie Ryan who captains the side is selected alongside Niall Murray. Scott Penny and Martin Moloney at 6 and 7 while John Hodnett is selected at number 8.

In the backs, Munster’s Jake Flannery is selected at full back. Ulster’s Angus Kernohan starts on the wing, while on the other wing Johnathan Wren is selected. Liam Turner and Sean French maintain their partnership in the centre. Harry Byrne and Craig Casey are the half back partnership. The replacements see Ryan Lomas who is named on the bench and may be called upon for the first time, other players on the bench include John McKee, Ryan Baird, Cormac Foley and Ben Healy.

Speaking to RTE Sport Noel McNamara said “It was great to win the title with last week’s win over France, but it’s testament to the players how they’ve parked the victory and are fully focused on what can be achieved in Wales this Friday night,” “They are a really tight knit-group, which I think has been evident in their performances over the last number of weeks.They have one final test this week and the group are really relishing the challenge and opportunity that Friday will bring.

Ireland U20 team to play Wales: Jake Flannery (Munster); Angus Kernohan (Ulster), Liam Turner (Leinster), Sean French (Munster), Jonathan Wren (Munster); Harry Byrne (Leinster), Craig Casey (Munster); Josh Wycherley (Munster), Dylan Tierney-Martin (Connacht), Thomas Clarkson (Leinster); Charlie Ryan (Leinster, captain), Niall Murray (Connacht);  Martin Moloney (Leinster), Scott Penny (Leinster), John Hodnett (Munster).

Replacements: John McKee (Leinster), Callum Reid (Ulster), Ryan Lomas (Connacht), Ryan Baird (Leinster), David McCann (Ulster), Cormac Foley (Leinster), Ben Healy (Munster), Rob Russell (Leinster).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.