Ireland v England – Six Nations team news – Kick off 4:45pm Saturday

We have team news for the Six Nations clash between Ireland v England – kick off 4:45pm Saturday.
Rory Best will captain the Irish side and is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg FurlongDevin Toner and James Ryan are selected at lock with Peter O’MahonyJosh van der Flier and CJ Stander named in the backrow.


Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are re-united at half-back for the first time since last summer’s tour of Australia with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose lining out in the midfield.  Robbie Henshaw is named at fullback with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.
The replacements named for the weekend are Sean Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Quinn Roux, Sean O’Brien, John Cooney, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour

Owen Farrell will captain England at fly half with Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) named outside him at 12. Tuilagi will start his first match for England since the third Test against New Zealand in June 2014.

Brothers Mako and Billy Vunipola (Saracens) will play for England for the first time this season having last featured in the Test series against South Africa in June 2018.“Everyone inside our camp believes we can win.”

Tom Curry (Sale Sharks) and Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) will make their Guinness Six Nations debuts having been named at openside and blindside flanker respectively.

Elliot Daly (Wasps), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers) and Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) are named in the back three.

Dan Robson (Wasps) is set to make his England debut having been named as a finisher. The highly-experienced Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) will start at scrum half.

“I think it is quite clear to beat Ireland you have to beat them in the contest area,” said Jones.

“They are very good at the breakdown and in the air, both those areas are a priority for us. Traditionally England and Ireland games are always very close, they are tough affairs, there is a lot of emotion in the games so our ability to finish the game strongly is going to be vital.

“It is well documented no one thinks we can win, but I can tell you everyone inside our camp believes we can win. We are hugely looking forward to the weekend.”

On England’s preparation in Portugal, Jones added: “This camp has been vitally important for us to get our understanding on how we want to play the game. It has been also enormously important for us is to get that togetherness off the field and the senior players and staff have been working very hard in those areas. We have a great group of players, hardworking and a good mix who have come together really well.”

IRELAND Squad v England – 2019 Guinness Six Nations 

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 36
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 72
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 17
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 12
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 14
10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 78 (vc)
9.Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 67
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 84
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 113 (c)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 28
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 63
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 13
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 52 (vc)
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 13 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 28
16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 65
17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 24
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 11
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 8
20. Sean O’Brien (Leinster/UCD) 52
21. John Cooney (Ulster/Terenure College) 4
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 16
23. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 9

England starting XV (485 caps)

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 25 caps), 14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 40 caps), 13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps), 12 Manu Tuiagi (Leicester Tigers, 27 caps), 11 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 29 caps), 10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 65 caps), 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 80 caps); 1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 51 caps), 2 Jamie George (Saracens, 32 caps), 3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 17 caps), 4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 26 caps), 5 George Kruis (Saracens, 27 caps), 6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 8 caps), 7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 5 caps), 8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 36 caps).

Finishers (206 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps), 17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps), 18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 15 caps), 19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 68 caps), 20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 18 caps), 21 Dan Robson (Wasps, uncapped), 22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps), 23 Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks, 42 caps).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.