Ireland v Italy – Saturday 10th August, kick off 2pm – Live on RTÉ

Ireland team and replacements to face Italy. Credit: IRFU.

The Ireland rugby team and replacements have been named for Saturday’s 2019 Guinness Summer Series opener with Italy at the Aviva Stadium.

In a new-look and experimental side Munster Rugby’s South African-born second row Jean Kleyn will made his Ireland debut, in a side captained by Rhys Ruddock.

Ruddock, who will lead the national side for the seventh team this weekend, will start in the back row with Munster’s Tommy O’Donnell at openside with Ulster’s impressive new player of last season, Jordi Murphy, at No. 8.

The experienced 64-times capped Devon Toner will partner debutant Jean Kleyn in the second row, with Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and Andrew Porter constituting the front row.

The regular half-back pairing of Conor Murray and Jonathan Sexton will sit this weekend’s game out, with Luke McGrath and Joey Carbery chosen instead.

Chris Farrell and Garry Ringrose are named in the centre, with the back three made up of fullback Jordan Larmour, and Andrew Conway and Dave Kearney on the wings.

The replacements named sees 4 Munster players chosen, two from Connacht, and one each from Ulster and Leinster respectively.

Niall Scannell, 88-times capped Cian Healy, John Ryan, Iain Henderson, Tadhg Beirne, Kieran Marmion, Jack Carty, while Preston-born Mike Haley, who joined Munster Rugby from Sale Sharks last season, is likely to make his debut off the bench on Saturday.

Ireland Team v Italy

15. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster).
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster).
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster).
12. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster).
11. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster).
10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster).
9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster).

1. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster).
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster).
3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster).
4. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster).
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster).
6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) (captain).
7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster).
8. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster).

Ireland Replacements
16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster).
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster).
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster).
19. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster).
20. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster).
21. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht).
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht).
23. Mike Haley (Munster).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.