Ireland Women’s 7s squad, fixtures & kick-off times for Paris this weekend

The Stade Jean Bouin, home to Stade Francais, hosts the final round of the World Rugby Sevens Series this weekend.

Ireland’s Women’s Sevens are drawn in Pool A with England, New Zealand and invitational side Wales. They take on Wales, England and New Zealand in their Pool on Friday.

Aoife Doyle, who missed the last two stops on the Series through injury, returns to the team.

Captain Lucy Mulhall has scored 77 points this season and she sits in fifth position on the DHL Performance tracker. Her half-back colleague Stacey Flood sits in fourth place on the tracker, and the Railway Union scrum-half is set for her 21st consecutive appearance in green. Flood has played in every senior tournament Ireland have been involved in since summer 2015.

Ashleigh Baxter will become Ireland’s most capped Sevens player this weekend. She will win her 27th Sevens Cap in Paris. The Ulster woman has also won 24 caps in 15s game.

Ireland’s top try scorer Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe has touched down on 14 occasions this season on the series, and has scored 45 tries since her series debut in 2013.

Kathy Baker, Katie Fitzhenry, Louise Galvin, Katie Heffernan, Eve Higgins, Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird and Hannah Tyrrell were all selected for the Canada leg last month.

Ahead of the weekend, Director of Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy said:

”We are again in a tough pool, but there are no easy games on the World Series and the players are confident of finishing this series season on a good note.

The team has shown great improvement during the year and it would be only fitting for them to have a performance that reflects all the hard work and commitment they demonstrate.”

The Paris 7s is the final stage of the World Series, and Ireland sits in 9th place on the overall table with 25 points, 1 behind pool rivals England.

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad for Paris, Friday, June 8-Sunday, June 10:

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
Kathy Baker (Blackrock/Leinster)
Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/Munster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Katie Heffernan (Railway Union)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum) (captain)
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Friday, 8th June 2018


Ireland v Wales, 2.22pm local time/1.22pm Irish time

Ireland v England, 5.06pm local time/4.06pm Irish time

New Zealand v Ireland, 7.28pm local time/6.28pm Irish time

Saturday, 9th June 2018


Sunday, 10th June 2018



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.