Leinster Rugby team to play Ospreys on Friday evening (KO: 8.00pm),

Leinster Rugby coach Matt O’Connor has made a number of changes and one surprise addition to the replacements bench for the Round 6, Heineken Cup clash at  the RDS of the Ospreys on Friday evening (KO: 8.00pm),

The back division sees no change from the 15 that started in the hard fought away win in Castres last Sunday, but up front there are four changes in personnel. However the most surprising addition comes in the form of the fit again Richardt Strauss selected as reserve hooker.

The four times capped Irish international was diagnosed with a heart condition last October and while it was initially thought that a return to action this season was unlikely, Richardt has progressed excellently to the extent that the medical team has cleared him to play sooner than expected.

Sean Cronin is once again selected at hooker for his 63rd Leinster cap while fit again Cian Healy scrums down beside him having impressed off the bench against Castres. On the other side of Cronin, having been named in the extended Irish squad earlier in the week, Martin Moore gets the nod at tighthead. Last weekend’s starting props Jack McGrath and Mike Ross are held in reserve.

Should Mike Ross feature off the bench, it will be the Corkman’s 100th Leinster cap since signing from Harlequins for the 2009/2010 season.

Devin Toner and Mike McCarthy are retained in the second row but there are two changes in the back row with Kevin McLaughlin and try scorer Jordi Murphy making way for the fit again Rhys Ruddock and Shane Jennings.

Jamie Heaslip captains the side from 8.

There is one final change in that the traditional home jersey will not have Bank of Ireland across the front as the Leinster sponsor. Instead the logo of Gahan Meats will adorn the Leinster jersey for the Round 6 game.

Gahan Meats won a competition hosted by Bank of Ireland and were selected as Leinster sponsor for the day and will have prominence on match day in the programme and on the hoardings as well.

Further information about Gahan Meats can be found at www.gahanmeats.ie or follow them on Twitter at www.twitter.com/gahanmeats


15: Rob Kearney

14: Dave Kearney

13: Brian O’Driscoll

12: Gordon D’Arcy

11: Luke Fitzgerald

10: Jimmy Gopperth

9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy

2: Sean Cronin

3: Martin Moore

4: Devin Toner

5: Mike McCarthy

6: Rhys Ruddock

7: Shane Jennings

8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN


16: Richardt Strauss

17: Jack McGrath

18: Mike Ross

19: Leo Cullen

20: Jordi Murphy

21: Isaac Boss

22: Ian Madigan

23: Zane Kirchner

REFEREE: Romain Poite (FRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Cyril Lafon, Eric Soulan (both FRU) CITING COMMISSIONER: Tony Lanaway (ERU) TMO: Laurent Vain (FRU)


17th Jan     Draw          

(-17) Leinster

(-17) Ospreys (+17)

18th Jan     Draw          

(-24) Saracens

(-24) Connacht (+24)


(+6) Glasgow ..

(+6) Toulon (-6)


(-3) Leiceste..

(-3) Ulster (+3)

19th Jan     Draw          

(-15) Munster

(-15) Edinburg.. (+15)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.