Lions v Australia preview, team news and live score commentary

The Lions could wrap up a test series win when they take on Australia in the second of three tests, with kickoff at 11:00am, follow live score commentary of the game by clicking here.

A win would be the Lions first test series win since 1997, when they beat South Africa 2-1, and they will be hoping there will be no repeat of the 2001 tour, when the Aussies beat them.

Despite an impressive 21-23 victory over the hosts last Saturday, Warren Gatland has made five changes to his starting team.

Mike Phillips, who struggled against Australia last Saturday, has been dropped in favour of Ben Youngs.

Will Genia posed a massive threat for the Aussies, and Gatland has responded, by bringing in Dan Lydiate in favour of Tom Croft.

Tommy Bowe has returned from injury to replace Alex Cuthbert, who may think himself unlucky to be dropped, after he scored a superb try last Saturday.

Geoff Parling and Mako Vunipola have come in for injured duo Paul O’ Connell and Alex Corbisiero.

Gatland has named a strong bench, with Ryan Grant, Conor Murray and Sean O’Brien providing cover.

Australia have had to tweak their line up with injuries plaguing the side. Kurtley Beale starts, and he and Will Genia may prove too much to handle for the Lions.

British and Irish Lions: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll, 12 Jonathan Davies, 11 George North, 10 Jonny Sexton, 9 Ben Youngs, 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Tom Youngs, 3 Adam Jones, 4 Alun Wyn Jones, 5 Geoff Parling, 6 Dan Lydiate, 7 Sam Warburton, 8 Jamie Heaslip.
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Ryan Grant, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Tom Croft, 20 Sean O’Brien, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Alex Cuthbert.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Israel Folau, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Christian Leali’ifano, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Will Genia, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Ben Mowen, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Liam Gill, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Rob Horne, 23 Jesse Mogg.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here