Michael Kearney joins European Professional Club Rugby Board

European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR), the organisers of the Heineken Champions Cup and European Rugby Challenge Cup, is pleased to announce that Michael Kearney has been appointed to its Board.

Kearney, who will represent the Irish Rugby Football Union on the Board, replaces Paul McNaughton, who has been succeeded on EPCR’s Executive Committee by Andrea Rinaldo.

Kearney was previously Ireland Team Manager and he has also carried out similar managerial roles with both Leinster Rugby and the Ireland Under 20s.

Kearney said: “I’m delighted to join the EPCR Board and I hope my experience in the professional game will help me to make a positive contribution to a dynamic and ever-changing rugby landscape.”

EPCR Chairman Simon Halliday, said: “Michael’s extensive knowledge, passion and enthusiasm makes him an excellent and appropriate replacement for Paul McNaughton whose major contribution to the development of European club rugby tournaments is both valued and appreciated.”

The Board of EPCR now has the following members: Simon Halliday (Chairman), Philip Browne (IRFU), Mark Dodson (Scottish Rugby), Fabrizio Gaetaniello (FIR), Robert Howat (Scottish Rugby), Michael Kearney (IRFU), Mark McCafferty (PRL), Nigel Melville (RFU), Julie Paterson (WRU), Martyn Phillips (WRU), Andrea Rinaldo (FIR), Yann Roubert (LNR) and Serge Simon (FFR).

The Heineken Champions Cup is set to capture the attention of worldwide rugby audiences this weekend as four of the most decorated clubs in the history of the tournament with a combined total of 13 European titles compete in the semi-finals. Saracens take on Munster Rugby in Coventry on Saturday while holders Leinster Rugby and Toulouse go head-to-head on Sunday in Dublin with a place in next month’s final in Newcastle at stake. The tournament will pass an all-time aggregate of 20 million fans over the course of the weekend.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.