Munster Team News v Ulster, Saturday 5.35pm kick-off – Live on TG4

Munster Rugby Head Coach Johann van Graan makes a total of 14 changes to the team that lost to Racing 92 in last weekend’s Champions Cup semi-final in Bordeaux for the visit of provincial rivals Ulster to Thomond Park on Saturday evening.

Mike Sherry will captain the side for the first time since 2013 in what will be his 100th appearance in red. James Cronin will achieve the same distinction on Saturday; both will be partnered by Brian Scott in the front row.

Stephen Fitzgerald will make his second start of the season at full-back with Darren Sweetnam and Munster Academy winger Calvin Nash on the wings.

Young Player of the Year Sammy Arnold is the only player to keep his place from last week’s game, and he will partner Dan Goggin in midfield.

Scrum-half Duncan Williams is named at scrum-half and he will partner JJ Hanrahan in the half backs.

South African Gerbrandt Grobler, who came on as a replacement in Bordeaux, joins Darren O’Shea in the second row, with Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver and Robin Copeland making up the back row.

Munster Team:

15. Stephen Fitzgerald, 14. Calvin Nash, 13. Sammy Arnold, 12. Dan Goggin, 11. Darren Sweetnam, 10. JJ Hanrahan, 9. Duncan Williams.

1. James Cronin, 2. Mike Sherry (captain), 3. Brian Scott, 4. Gerbrandt Grobler, 5. Darren O’Shea, 6. Dave O’Callaghan, 7. Conor Oliver, 8. Robin Copeland.

Munster Replacements:

16. Rhys Marshall, 17. Jeremy Loughman, 18. Stephen Archer, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Jack O’Donoghue, 21. James Hart, 22. Bill Johnston, 23. Shane Daly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.