Schmidt names Ireland rugby team for second test against Australia

Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt has named his side for the second test against Australia at AAMI Stadium in Melbourne on Saturday (kick off 11.05am Live on Sky).

The New Zealand-born coach has named a new front row consisting of Cian Healy, Niall Scannell and Tadhg Furlong.

The Ireland second row is Devin Toner and the impressive James Ryan.

Leinster’s Dan Leavy is chosen at openside with captain Peter O’Mahony and his fellow Munster player CJ Stander completing the back row.

The regular half-back partnership of Johnny Sexton and Conor Murray is back in place, while Robbie Henshaw will play in the number 12 jersey with Garry Ringrose partnering him in the centre.

Rob Kearney is at fullback with Andrew Conway on the right wing and Keith Earls on the left.

The replacements bench named means Scarlets’ Munster Rugby-bound back row Tadhg Beirne will make his Ireland debut at some stage during the game.

Ulster’s John Cooney, who won his first cap against Japan during the summer tour of 2017, is set to add to his solitary cap having been named among the replacements.

The remainder of the Ireland bench is made up of Rob Herring, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour.

Ireland Team:

15. Rob Kearney, 14. Andrew Conway, 13. Garry Ringrose, 12. Robbie Henshaw, 11. Keith Earls, 10. Johnny Sexton, 9. Conor Murray.

  1. Cian Healy, 2. Niall Scannell, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. James Ryan, 5. Devin Toner, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Dan Leavy, 8. CJ Stander.

Ireland Replacements:

16. Rob Herring, 17. Jack McGrath, 18. Andrew Porter, 19. Tadhg Beirne, 20. Jordi Murphy, 21. John Cooney, 22. Joey Carbery, 23. Jordan Larmour.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.