Scotland v Ireland – Preview & Starting teams – Kick off 2:15pm Saturday

Scotland and Ireland have named their teams for the second round of Six Nations rugby matches. Kick off Saturday (kick-off 2.15pm) – live on BBC.

The two surprises are that Blair Kinghorn is benched after last weeks hat-trick and Robbie Henshaw is a late change due on the Irish team due to a dead leg.

Scotland have made four changes to the starting line-up at BT Murrayfield Stadium

Head Coach Gregor Townsend has welcomed the added experience of last year’s top try-scoring Saracens wing, Sean Maitland, who has recovered from a hamstring injury to start in place of last weekend’s hat-trick try-scorer Blair Kinghorn, who moves to the bench.

Maitland will form a familiar back-three with fellow British & Irish Lions Tommy Seymour and full-back Stuart Hogg, who will bring a combined 150 caps and 49 tries into their 18th Scotland Test start as a trio this Saturday.

The remaining changes come in the pack, where prop Simon Berghan and back-row Josh Strauss start in place of injured forwards Willem Nel (calf) and Sam Skinner (ankle), while Jonny Gray’s recovery from a shoulder injury sees him replace second-row Ben Toolis, who moves to the bench.

The bench sees four further changes, where uncapped prop D’arcy Rae takes the replacement spot vacated by Berghan, experienced Glasgow Warriors pair Fraser Brown (hooker) and Pete Horne (centre) return from injury to feature for the first time in the campaign, and fellow Warrior Rob Harley is drafted in from outwith the wider squad into the match-day 23.

Townsend said: “We picked up two injuries from last week with WP (Nel) and Sam (Skinner) missing out, which is disappointing for us and them, but have had a boost with a number of proven Test players returning from injury and available to us this week.

“To have that calibre of player and experience around the group in the build-up this week, and during a game of such magnitude, is very important.”

Glasgow Warriors centre Sam Johnson [right] has been handed the chance to build on an impressive debut against Italy alongside fellow Warrior Huw Jones, while influential half-backs Greig Laidlaw and Finn Russell also return.

The reselection of Allan Dell and Stuart McInally alongside Berghan means an all-Edinburgh front-row will take to the field once more, in spite of Nel’s absence.

Behind them in the scrum Grant Gilchrist starts alongside Gray, while Ryan Wilson and Jamie Ritchie join Strauss in the back-row.

Looking ahead to Saturday’s Test, Townsend added: “It’s massive. It’s probably the biggest challenge we’ll face in the Guinness Six Nations, given the way Ireland have been playing in the last few years – they are Grand Slam Champions and the number-two team in the world.

“They’re very well coached, have some outstanding players and will test us in a number of areas – defensively, set-piece, attack and kicking game. It is a challenge that brings an extra edge and focus to training and something our players relish taking on.

“Our players have risen to the challenge of playing New Zealand, England and other world-class teams and they are aware that we must rise once more to produce one of our best-ever performances for 80 minutes.”

Ireland are missing five players due to injury; Henshaw, Ringrose, Van der Flier, Toner, Stander are all out.

“Robbie is unavailable,” confirmed Schmidt. “He got a dead leg and it hasn’t recovered sufficiently.

“It was a bit of aggravation after taking a knock against England. The problem is, maybe he could have played, but if you get another bump, it really debilitates you.

“It’s exciting to give Chris Farrell the chance against Scotland. He only got one match last year and has come back into form with Munster.”

“Once Garry Ringrose was ruled out, it was about keeping continuity as best we can, to be as cohesive as we can be,” added Schmidt

Captain Rory Best is joined in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong.  Quinn Roux comes in at lock to partner James Ryan while Sean O’Brien and Jack Conan are introduced to the backrow with Peter O’Mahony retained on the blindside flank.
Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are named at 9 and 10 respectively with Chris Farrell partnering Bundee Aki in the centre.  Rob Kearney is named at fullback with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.


Scotland team to play Ireland in the Guinness Six Nations

Saturday 9 February, kick-off 2.15pm – live on BBC

15. Stuart Hogg VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors) – 66 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 47 caps
13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 37 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) – 41 caps
9. Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Clermont Auvergne) – 67 caps

1. Allan Dell (Edinburgh) – 18 caps
2. Stuart McInally VICE CAPTAIN (Edinburgh) – 23 caps
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 29 caps
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 47 caps
6. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 42 caps
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) – 7 caps
8. Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks) – 18 caps

16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps
17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 12 caps
18. D’arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh) – 15 caps
20. Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 38 caps
23. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) – 8 caps

Squad players unavailable through injury: George Horne (shoulder), Lee Jones (knee), John Hardie (knee), Willem Nel (calf), Sam Skinner (ankle).


IRELAND Squad v Scotland – 2019 Guinness Six Nations 

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Rob Kearney (Leinster/UCD) 87 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 73
13. Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 3 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 13
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 15
10. Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 79 (vc)
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 68
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 85
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 114 (c)
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 29
4. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 9
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 14
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 53 (vc)
7. Sean O’Brien (Leinster/UCD) 53
8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 11 caps
16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 66
17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 25
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 12
19. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 11 caps
20. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 14 caps
21. John Cooney (Ulster/Terenure College) 5
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 17
23. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 10


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.