Three Leinster players among five on shortlist for EPCR European Player of the Year 2018 Award

Both Leinster Rugby and Racing 92’s performances in reaching this season’s Champions Cup Final have been rewarded as the finalists dominate the shortlist for the EPCR European Player of the Year 2018 award.

Scott Fardy, Tadhg Furlong and Johnny Sexton are the Leinster trio while Maxime Machenaud and Leone Nakarawa make the shortlist for the French club side.

The 15 nominees have been trimmed to five based on the combined verdict of a distinguished panel of rugby experts and the public vote.

Public voting is now open on and will close following the Champions Cup final at the San Mamés Stadium on 12th May. The winner will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy, a specially-struck commemorative medal and one million air miles courtesy of Turkish Airlines.

Shortlist for EPCR European Player of the Year 2018

Scott Fardy (Leinster Rugby).
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby).
Maxime Machenaud (Racing 92).
Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92).
Johnny Sexton (Leinster Rugby).

Irish players won the prestigious award in 2010 (Ronan O’Gara), 2011 (Seán O’Brien) and 2012 (Rob Kearney). Saracens Owen Farrell won the award last season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.