Top facts to remember about Leinster winning the Champions Cup rugby 2018

Following the historic Champions Cup final in Bilbao, please CLICK HERE for a comprehensive review of the match and in-depth tournament statistics, as well as top facts.

• On the two occasions in the professional era that Ireland have won the 6 Nations Grand Slam (2009 and 2018), Leinster have lifted the European Cup.

• Leinster are bidding to become the first club to achieve the double of European Cup and PRO14 titles in the same season.

• Racing’s Wenceslas Lauret, who was on the losing side with Biarritz in the 2010 final, has been a runner-up in all three of his European Cup finals. Lauret made 19 tackles at the San Mamés Stadium.

• Johnny Sexton’s 63 points from his four appearances is the leading total by a player in the 23-season history of European Cup finals.

• EPCR European Player of the Year, Leone Nakarawa, was the only player to play every minute (720) of this season’s tournament.

• Cian Healy, Isa Nacewa, Johnny Sexton and Devin Toner have equalled the record of four European Cup wins previously jointly held by Cédric Heymans and Fréderic Michalak.

• After their disappointment in Bilbao, Donnacha Ryan (Munster 2008) and Census Johnston (Toulouse 2010) remain the only tournament winners among the current Racing squad.

• Dan Leavy made match highs in the final of 17 carries and 20 tackles.

• Leinster Head Coach, Leo Cullen, is the only player to have captained three winning sides, and now the only man to have won the European Cup both as a player and as a coach.

• Scott Fardy is the eighth Australian to win the tournament after Pat Howard and Rod Kafer (Leicester Tigers), Rocky Elsom and Chris Whitaker (Leinster), Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell (RC Toulon) and Paul Warwick (Munster).

• Heineken Man of the Match in the final, James Ryan, has played just 21 games as a professional and has won them all.

• Leinster’s replacement scrum half, Jamison Gibson-Park, is the ninth player to win the European Cup and Super Rugby double. The other eight are Rod Kafer (Leicester Tigers/Brumbies), Doug Howlett (Blues/Munster Rugby), Brad Thorn (Crusaders/Leinster), Bakkies Botha (Bulls/RC Toulon), Matt Giteau (Brumbies/RC Toulon), Danie Rossouw (Bulls/RC Toulon), Bryan Habana (Bulls/RC Toulon) and Ali Williams (Blues/Crusaders/RC Toulon).

• Leinster’s Sean Cronin made his 50th European Cup appearance in Bilbao.

• With their victory at the weekend, Leinster became the second club after Saracens in 2015/16 to win all nine Champions Cup matches in the same season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.