Premiership Rugby Cup Pools, Round 1 Fixtures & Kick-Off Times

Harlequins will have the honour of kicking off this season’s Premiership Rugby Cup in front of the live BT Sport cameras as the Bristol Bears arrive at the Twickenham Stoop on Friday 20th September.

Four weeks before the start of Gallagher Premiership Rugby, the format of the competition sees England’s 12 top flight clubs grouped into three pools of four, with the top team in each and the best runner-up across the pools qualifying for the semi-finals. The Final will be staged at the stadium of the highest-seeded side.

In an action-packed first round, Gloucester Rugby and newly-promoted Gallagher Premiership Rugby outfit London Irish will go head-to-head at Kingsholm in the other Pool 2 game on the first weekend.

Elsewhere, Pool 3 will see Bath Rugby take on West Country rivals Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park, with the game also live on BT Sport, while Worcester Warriors face Leicester Tigers at Sixways.

The teams in each group will play each other once over the first three weekends, before the compelling Derby Day weekend once again returns for the final round of action, starting on 11th October.

On the Derby Day weekend, Gloucester will kick off the action on the Friday night against Bath at Kingsholm, while Exeter Chiefs face Bristol in the other West Country derby at Sandy Park on Saturday.

Leicester Tigers will renew their Midlands rivalry with Saints at Welford Road, Saracens take on Harlequins, Wasps go up against Worcester and the Exiles face Sale.

Northampton Saints will begin their Premiership Rugby Cup defence against Sale Sharks at the AJ Bell Stadium on 21st September after the fixtures for 2019-20 campaign were confirmed.

The inaugural running of the competition, which replaced the Anglo-Welsh Cup, saw Saints overcome Saracens 23-9 in the final at Franklin’s Gardens last season.

But the two finalists will not have to wait long to face each other again after being drawn together in Pool 1 alongside Sale Sharks and Wasps, with the latter taking on Saracens in the first round.

Premiership Rugby Cup – Round One

Friday, 20th September

Harlequins v Bristol Bears, Twickenham Stoop (7.45pm, BT Sport)

Saturday, 21st September

Wasps v Saracens, Ricoh Arena (1pm)
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints, AJ Bell Stadium (3pm)
Gloucester Rugby v London Irish, Kingsholm (3pm)
Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers, Sixways Stadium (3pm)
Exeter Chiefs v Bath Rugby, Sandy Park (3.15pm, BT Sport)

Pool 1

Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks

Pool 2

Bristol Bears
Gloucester Rugby
London Irish

Pool 3

Bath Rugby
Exeter Chiefs
Leicester Tigers
Worcester Warriors


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.