Starting team news for Australia v Ireland – Kick off 11:05am Saturday

We have the starting team news for Australia v Ireland in the first test in Brisbane, kick off 11:05am Saturday.
In the absence through injury of Rory Best, Peter O’Mahony fills in as captain and is joined in the backrow by Jordi Murphy at openside and CJ Stander at No.8.  James Ryan and Iain Henderson fill the lock positions with Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and John Ryan making up the front row.
Rob Kearney is named at fullback and is joined in the outfield by Jacob Stockdale and Keith Earls.  Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw are reunited in midfield with Conor Murray and Joey Carbery at halfback.
The replacements named are Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Johnny Sexton and Jordan Larmour.

Brandon Paenga-Amosa and Caleb Timu have been handed dream Test debuts, named in the Wallabies’ starting XV to face Ireland on Saturday.

The Reds pair have been named at hooker and No. 8, respectively, with Pete Samu also set to make his debut from the bench.

Timu’s inclusion pushes David Pocock to blindside flanker, with captain Michael Hooper to start at openside.

Coach Michael Cheika said the debutant would bring a strong ball carrying emphasis to the Australian attack, a facet which the Wallabies need with both Pocock and Hooper putting plenty of energy into other parts of the team’s game.

“I think Caleb has had a great season, to be honest,” Cheika said.

“I think his carrying game has been outstanding and if you look at the way our back row is set up, the other two boys aren’t the hugest of carriers.

“Even just now as he’s come back from injury – he jumped into that game against NSW and made an impact straight away.

“I think that’s what you want to see from players.”

Izack Rodda will pack down alongside Adam Coleman in the second row, with Sekope Kepu earning the nod over Taniela Tupou at tighthead prop.

Haylett-Petty’s start is his first in close to nine months, after a biceps injury ended his 2017 season midway through the Rugby Championship, while Kerevi will start at 13 for the first time since last year’s Test against Japan.

Kerevi’s shift to outside centre squeezes Tevita Kuridrani out of the 23 altogether, with utility Reece Hodge pushed back to the bench as Haylett-Petty and Marika Koroibete earn first crack on the wings.

“Winning these games is about 80 minutes and guys like (Hodge), Simmons, Nick Phipps, they’ve all been in good form and Tupou, Alaalatoa, they’ve been in great form.

“We’re going to need 80 minutes and that’s a big theme for us this year – consistency.

“I’m looking at consistency across the board and I’m looking at the finishers to finish.”

Late squad inclusion, Tolu Latu, has done enough to earn a spot as cover for Paenga-Amosa on the bench, while Lukhan Tui, Rob Simmons and Samu have all been named as part of a 6-2 split on the pine.


Wallabies team to face Ireland

1. Scott Sio (43 Tests)

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa*

3. Sekope Kepu (91 Tests)

4. Izack Rodda (4 Tests)

5. Adam Coleman (20 Tests)

6. David Pocock (66 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (79 Tests)

8. Caleb Timu*

9. Will Genia (88 Tests)

10. Bernard Foley (55 Tests)

11. Dane Haylett-Petty (18 Tests)

12. Kurtley Beale (71 Tests)

13. Samu Kerevi (18 Tests)

14. Marika Koroibete (8 Tests)

15. Israel Folau (62 Tests)


16. Tolu Latu (4 Tests)

17. Allan Alaalatoa (23 Tests)

18. Taniela Tupou (1 Test)

19. Rob Simmons (82 Tests)

20. Lukhan Tui (4 Tests)

21. Pete Samu*

22. Nick Phipps (61 Tests)

23. Reece Hodge (24 Tests)

*denotes uncapped

The games will be broadcast live on Sky Sports (TV) and RTE 2FM (Radio).


IRELAND squad for 1st Test v Australia – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 83 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 67 caps
13. Robbie Henshaw(Buccaneers/Leinster) 33 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 7 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 9 caps
10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 10 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 64 caps
1. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 47 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 caps
3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38 caps
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 47 caps capt
7. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 20 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 23 caps
16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 61 caps
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 78 caps
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 23 caps
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 5 caps
20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 7 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 21 caps
22. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 73 caps

23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 3 caps


Saturday 9th June, 2018
Australia v IRELAND
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, KO 20.05 local (11.05 IRL)
Saturday 16th June, 2018
Australia v IRELAND
AAMI Park, Melbourne, KO 20.05 local (11.05 IRL)
Saturday 23rd June, 2018
Australia v Ireland
Allianz Park, Sydney KO 20.05 local (11.05 IRL)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.