Parrot and Manning named in Ireland squad

Mick McCarthy has named Troy Parrott and Ryan Manning in the squad for the upcoming friendly with New Zealand and the crucial Euro 2020 qualifier clash with Denmark later next month.

Manning is named in the squad for the first time since Martin O’Neill was in charge, while Parrott is included in the squad after an impressive performance against Belgrade for Tottenham in the UEFA Youth League where the striker scored 4 goals in a 9-2 win.

Seamus Coleman misses out due to suspension. However, McCarthy has opted to include Dave McGoldrick, Darren Randolph and Robbie Brady in the squad. The squad had 39 players in total, but McCarthy will cut this ahesd of the games next month.

Looking at the squad, the goalkeepers include Darren Randolph who plays with Middlesbrough, Kieran O’Hara of Burton Albion, Caoimhin Kelleher who plays with Liverpool, Mark Travers of Bournemouth and Keiron Westwood of Sheffield Wednesday.

In the defence McCarthy has included John Egan of Sheffield United, Shane Duffy of Brighton and Hove Albion, Matt Doherty of Wolves and Ciaran Clark of Newcastle United to name but a few.

Midfield sees Glenn Whelan, Jeff Hendrick, James McCarthy, James McClean and Robbie Brady named among others. McGoldrick, Aaron Connolly, Seanie Maguire, Troy Parrott and James Collins are just some of the strikers named by McCarthy.

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth), Kieran O’Hara (Burton Albion, on loan from Manchester United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool).

Defenders: Matt Doherty (Wolves), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Long (Burnley), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Ryan Manning (QPR), Nathan Collins (Stoke City)

Midfielders: Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Josh Cullen (Charlton Athletic, on loan from West Ham United), Glenn Whelan (Hearts), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Robbie Brady (Burnley), James McClean (Stoke City), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers)

Forwards: Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), Aidan O’Brien (Millwall), Kieran Sadlier (Doncaster Rovers), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Shane Long (Southampton), Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Scott Hogan (Stoke City, on loan from Aston Villa)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.