AUL retain Oscar Traynor Trophy

THE AUL made junior soccer history today when they retained the Oscar Traynor Trophy for a record fourth time when they beat the Clare League 2-0 at the AUL Complex.


The Dublin side started brightly and took the game to the Clare League and they created a number of half chances which failed to trouble keeper Mulready. The AUL seemed to lose their composure midway through the first half when they saw striker Glen sent off for a reckless challenge and it seem to rock the AUL tactics as they settled to go in scoreless at half time.


Clare tried to take the game to the AUL in the second half and Hayes and Mc Carthy were impressive but the AUL took the lead through Damien Cuffe when he chipped the keeper and Carpenter set up Mooney soon after to give the ten men AUL a deserved lead. Captain John Meleady led by example and picked up the Man of the Match Award in what was a very impressive AUL side.


AUL: Mark Hatton, Damien Cuffe, Mark Mooney, Conor Dillon, Paddy Brophy, Damien Joyce, Alan Talbot, John Meleady, Mark Towney, Stuart Glen, Dean Carpenter, Alan Mc Cabe, Gavin Mc Dermott, Graham Scott, Paul Mc Cullagh, Dean Gibbons, Arron Humphries, Stephen Whelan.


CLARE LEAGUE: John Mulready, Matty Nugent, Darren Cullinan, Darren Murphy, Eoin O’ Brien, Alan Kelly, Colin Smyth, Stephen Kelly, Stephen Hickey, David Mc Carthy, Eoin Hayes, Alan Brigdale, Paddy O’ Malley, Ronan Mc Cormack, Rhys Phillip, Darryl Eade, Michael Crosby, John Healy.


MATCH OFFICIALS: Oliver Falsey, Patrick O’ Connor, Patrick Geoghegan, Nicholas Marnell. (Kilkenny).




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here