FIFA Goal of the Year nominations

FIFA have released the shortlist for the 2011 goal of the year award which includes Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney’s stunning overhead kick against Man City last February.

Rooney joins the likes of Lionel Messi, Neymar and Zlatan Ibrahimovic on the 10-strong shortlist, with the winner set to be announced at the Fifa Ballon d’Or gala in Zurich on 9 January.

Fans can vote for their favourite goal on until 5 December, at which point the three candidates with the most votes will be revealed. Users can then vote for the winner up until 9 January.

Fifa Puskas Award 2011 nominees

Benjamin de Ceulaer, LOKEREN v Club Brugge

Giovani dos Santos, MEXICO v United States

Julio Gomez, MEXICO U17 v Germany U17

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, AC MILAN v Lecce

Lisandro Lopez, ARSENAL SARANDI v Olimpo

Lionel Messi, BARCELONA v Arsenal

Neymar, SANTOS v Flamengo

Heather O’Reilly, US WOMEN v Colombia Women

Wayne Rooney, MAN UTD v Man City

Dejan Stankovic, INTER MILAN v Schalke 04

You can view all the goals here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.