Liverpool FC v Newcastle – Starting teams

Its the last day of the season and we have the starting teams from Anfield as Brendan Rodgers Liverpool FC welcome Newcastle hoping that Manchester City will slip up.


  • Liverpool haven’t lost at home to Newcastle for 20 years. They are unbeaten in 18 league matches since a 2-0 defeat in 1994.
  • They have scored three goals in four out of the last five times they have played Newcastle at Anfield.
  • In 39 Premier League meetings between these sides, there has never been a goalless draw.


  • Liverpool have only picked up a point from their last two matches after collecting a maximum 33 from their previous 11 games.
  • Tottenham are the only side in the top eight who have conceded more goals (51) than Liverpool (49) in the league.
  • Liverpool need one more goal to break the 100-goal barrier in the league this season. Chelsea hold the Premier League record, scoring 103 in 2010.
  • Luis Suarez needs one more goal to surpass the Premier League scoring record of 31 goals in a 38-game season, currently held by Cristiano Ronaldo and Alan Shearer. The last time a Liverpool player scored 32 league goals was Ian Rush in 1983-84.
  • Between them, Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge have now scored 51 league goals this season. Only one partnership has scored more Premier League goals in a season – Newcastle’s Andy Cole and Peter Beardsley (55) in 1993-94.


  • Newcastle have won just one of their previous seven league matches away from home.
  • They have only recorded one victory in their nine matches against the current top five this season. That was a 2-0 win over Chelsea at St James’ Park.
  • The last time the Magpies won their final match of a Premier League campaign was in 2005-06, when they beat Chelsea 1-0 at home.
  • They have lost all 13 of their league matches this season when they have been losing at half-time – the worst record in the division.
  • Loic Remy has scored in four of his last seven Premier League games.
Starting teams
Liverpool FC – Mignolet, Johnson, Skrtel, Agger, Flanagan, Henderson, Gerrard, Allen, Sterling, Suarez, Sturridge
Newcastle – Krul; S.Taylor, Williamson, Coloccini (c), Haidara; Debuchy, Anita, Tiote, Gouffran; Sissoko; Shola Ameobi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here