Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Home Soccer Mick McCarthy announces provisional squad for games against Switzerland and Bulgaria

Mick McCarthy announces provisional squad for games against Switzerland and Bulgaria

Republic of Ireland manager Mick McCarthy. Credit: Shane Tighe.

Mick McCarthy has announced his provisional squad for next months games with Switzerland and Bulgaria. The Swiss tie is a part of the qualifying for Euros, while the Bulgarian game will act as a friendly.

McCarthy has included Tottenham Hotspur attacker Troy Parrott in the squad, while Nathan Collins of Stoke City and Kieran Sadlier who plays with Doncaster Rovers are also included for the first time. Jack Byrne who plays with League of Ireland side Shamrock Rovers is also in the squad. He has been in several squads before but has yet to feature in games. Mick McCarthy has also included James McCarthy who is now plying his trade with Crystal Palace. He is in line to make his first appearance for Ireland in 35 months.

The four goalkeepers are Darren Randolph, Kieron Westwood, Mark Travers and Kieran O’Hara. In defence regulars Shane Duffy, Seamus Coleman and Matt Doherty all included. Enda Stevens, Cyrus Christie and Ciaran Clark are also all included. In midfield, Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan, Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick and James McClean are all included. In attack players like Callum Robinson, Shane Long, Seanie Maguire, Troy Parrott and Michael Obafemi are all included.

Ireland will take on Switzerland on September 5th in the Euro 2020 qualifier, before they face Bulgaria on the 10th of September. McCarthy speaking to RTE Sport said he expects the squad to be trimmed down further. He said “I don’t know what’s going to happen between now and the next couple of games. We’ve got Saturday games, Tuesday games, Saturday and then the Saturday before me meet up. Players could get injured before we meet up.” The former Wolves and Sunderland boss said that he expects a tough game from the Swiss, Switzerland are a good side. They have been in the higher echelons of the top teams in Europe for the last number of years.”

Squad in full

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Keiren Westwood, Mark Travers, Kieran O’HaraDefenders: Seamus Coleman, Matt Doherty, Shane Duffy, Richard Keogh, John Egan, Kevin Long, Nathan Collins, Enda Stevens, Greg Cunningham, Cyrus Christie, Darragh Lenihan, Derrick Williams, Ciaran ClarkMidfielders: Conor Hourihane, Glenn Whelan, Josh Cullen, Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady, Alan Browne, James McClean, Callum O’Dowda, James McCarthy, Jack Byrne, Alan Judge, Harry Arter, Ronan Curtis, Kieran Sadlier

Forwards: Callum Robinson, Scott Hogan, Shane Long, Michael Obafemi, David McGoldrick, James Collins, Aiden O’Brien, Troy Parrott, Sean Maguire


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap