Wexford retain their Division 1B staus

As expected, Wexford have easily overcome Laois to retain their Division 1B status at Nowlan Park earlier today by 5-12 to 0-19.

The final score-line was nothing short of flattering for the Laois men, but it was they who actually started the stronger as Wexford looked out of sorts earlier on.

Liam Dunne’s men soon settled and despite Laois’s Willie Hyland finishing the game as top scorer, two goals before the interval from teenager Jack Guiney and Paul Morris eased Wexford into a 2-07 to 0-10 lead at the break.

Laois saw  a lot of the possession in the second-half but it was The Garden County who continued to add the score-line and a further two goals from the hugely impressive Guiney and David Redmond, condemn Laois to Division two hurling for 2013.

Wexford team
1 Eanna Martin 2 Willie Devereux 3 Paul Roche 4 Eoin Moore 5 Richie Kehoe 6 Darren Stamp Captain. 7 Ciaran Kenny 8 Matthew O’Hanlon 9 Eoin Quigley 10 Harry Kehoe 11 John Leacy 12 Diarmuid Lyng 13 Paul Morris 14 Jack Guiney 15 Rory Jacob


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.