Aviva Leinster Schools’ Track and Field Championships

The Aviva Leinster Schools’ Track and Field Championships took place in Morton Stadium on Saturday 19th of May. The competition was held in cool and dry conditions with many of Ireland’s top underage talent on display in Santry.

Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (Colaiste Iosagain) was a clear winner of the intermediate girls 800m and 1500m titles. In the 800m Buttner recorded a time of 2.08.84, which was just shy of her own championship record that she set in last year’s event. Kevin Dooney (CBS Monkstown) broke clear on the final lap of the senior boys 5000m (15.52.84), which left him six seconds clear of Ian Guidan (St. Davids) 15.58.24. Mary Mulhare (Gaelcolaiste Ní Portloaise) won the senior girls 3000m with a time of 10.05.44.

Marcus Lawlor (CBS Carlow) and Cliodhana Manning (Loreto Kilkenny) claimed impressive sprint doubles in the senior sprint events. Lawlor recorded times of 10.99 (100m) and 21.77 (200m), while Manning impressed with 12.12 (100m) and 24.41 (200m).

Nessa Cooper-Millet (Kilkeeny College) 58.38 and Daragh McNamara (Tullamore College) 50.57 won the senior girls and boys 400m titles.

In the field events, Sarah Buggy (Castlecomer CS) broke the senior girls Triple Jump record with a winning leap of 11.49m. Rachel Swan (Rathdown) added one centimetre to the senior girls Pole Vault record, clearing 2.66m.

Sinead Burke (Maynooth PP) set a new championships record in the intermediate girls 2,000m Walk, recording a time of 10.02.43

The final event of the day was the senior boys relay, Blackrock College stormed to victory setting a new Leinster schools record 43.23


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here