FAI Cup 2nd round – review & results

Last year’s winners Sligo Rovers were the shock casualties on a night of goals in the second round of the FAI Ford cup. The Premier division league leaders, winners of the cup in each of the last two seasons, went down 3-1 at home to Monaghan United.

Ian Baraclough’s side opened the scoring in the 8th minute through Mark Quigley however Monaghan hit back with goals from Tony Griffiths and Jason Marks to take a 2-1 lead with 18 minutes to go.

Alan Keane saw red for Sligo on 77 minutes before a penalty from Keith Quinn with six minutes to go sealed a famous victory for Roddy Collin’s side.

Meanwhile in Tallaght, Stephen O’Donnell’s 67th minute goal was enough to seal Shamrock Rover’s passage through to the next round at the expense of Limerick FC while David Scully scored a hat trick as Bohemians showed their class with a 5-0 thrashing of Drumkeen United.

Rory Patterson scored twice as Derry beat North West rivals Finn Harps 4-0 at the Brandywell while Vinny Sullivan and Tadhg Purcell both grabbed hat tricks as Cork City thrashed division one side Athlone town 6-1 at Turners Cross, four goals in a devastating 22 minute spell killing off the tie.

Mervue United claim the honours in the all Galway clash with SD Galway running out 2-0 winners while Dundalk put their league struggles behind them to beat St Pats CY 1-0 at Oriel Park.

FAI Ford Cup second round results:
Shamrock Rovers 1 – 0 Limerick FC
Dundalk 1 – 0 St Pats CY
Blarney United 1 – 4 Malahide United
Bohemians 5 – 0 Drumkeen United
SD Galway 0 – 2 Mervue United
Derry City 4 – 0 Finn Harps
Bray Wanderers 1 – 1 Shelbourne
Cork City 6 – 1 Athlone Town
Sligo Rovers 1 – 3 Monaghan United
Drogheda United 6 – 1 Mayfield United
U.C.D 3 – 1 Phoenix FC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here