Powerful comeback sees Tipp pip Limerick

Tipperary came behind to beat Limerick 2-20 to 1-19 at Semple Stadium in Thurles.

In a cracking contest, the Treaty led by seven points, 1-16 to 1-09 with barely 15 minutes to play, but ran out of steam and eventually succumbed to the 2010 All Ireland champions on an baking early summer day.  Tipp used all their substitutes, before pounding the visitors into the ground in the closing stages – outscoring Limerick 1-11 to 0-03 in the final 12 minutes.

Man of the match Brian O’Meara was superb for the winners and his 65th-minute goal was the turning point, eventually breaking Limerick’s stern resistance.

Tipp have booked a semi-final date with Cork at Pairc Ui Chaoimh, while John Allen’s Limerick go into the qualifiers following a highly impressive performance. In the end, the strength of the Premier County substitutes – Shane McGrath, Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher, Conor O’Brien, Seamus Callanan and Shane Bourke – proved decisive.

Tipperary: Brendan Cummins; Donagh Maher, Paul Curran, Michael Cahill; Thomas Stapleton (0-1), Conor O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; James Woodlock, Brendan Maher; Gearóid Ryan, Noel McGrath (0-3), Pa Bourke (1-6); Eoin Kelly (0-1), Brian O’Meara (1-2), John O’Brien. Subs: Shane McGrath (0-1), Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher, Conor O’Brien (0-1), Seamus Callanan (0-2), Shane Bourke (0-1).

Limerick: Nicky Quaid; Stephen Walsh, Richie McCarthy, Tom Condon; Wayne McNamara, Donal O’Grady, Gavin O’Mahony; Paul Browne, James Ryan; David Breen (0-1), Conor Allis (0-1), Shane Dowling (0-9); Graeme Mulcahy (1-2), Kevin Downes (0-2), Sean Tobin (0-3). Subs: Declan Hannon (0-1), Brian Geary, Niall Moran, Thomas Ryan.

Follow hoogenband0110 on Twitter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.